We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best sleep in town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeland Resort Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeland Resort Taupo to your Saves list
Lakeland Resort Taupo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not the best sleep in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of our one year anniversary holiday. Unfortunately the uncomfortable beds made our stay less than ideal. We stayed in room 101 on the first night, barely got any sleep and woke up with lots of aches from the springs poking. We complained to management who were kind enough to offer us a different room in the hopes that it would be more comfortable. Unfortunately the second room we tried was almost as bad. I suspect the beds are both old and cheap, using innersprings (developed in the 1800s) and very little cushioning at the top. We ended up buying a mink blanket and sleeping on top of the duvet just to get a little extra padding.

In terms of other aspects of the room; the bathroom was recently refurbished and very clean which was nice. There was a lack of cutlery and crockery with just a few cups and a single teaspoon being provided. I understand I could have asked for more at the office but who wants to go down and ask for a bowl and spoon just after waking up so they can eat cereal?

The restaurant was a pleasant surprise when going for dinner. I recommend the salmon which was cooked beautifully as well as the lamb shanks, the meat practically falls off the bone. I would not recommend going for a buffet breakfast as the food is cooked early and then left in warming trays; so it is not very hot when you get to it.

While the resort was a little out of the center of town, it was ok since we were driving most places anyway. This may be a problem for those staying on a Contiki tour however.

Room Tip: Go somewhere with more comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We're sorry to hear you found the beds were not satisfactory. Because bedding is such a personal choice it is extremely hard to satisfy everyone's preference, and we often have guests complimenting us for such comfortable beds. All beds are checked on a regular basis and replaced when needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    42
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
46
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
taree
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Resort is very clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and made us very welcome on arrival. The beach is straight across the road and is a lovely place for ad evening walk. The only negative is that it is a bit of a drive back into town which is not really a problem as there is a restaurant on premises. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
So please to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My partner and I were unexpectedly staying in Taupo for a night and were looking quickly for a nice place to stay on a medium budget. Lakeland Resort was the first place I found in the right budget range and it didn't disappoint. Lovely clean room with immaculate en-suite bathroom. Our room had all the basics covered, and some extras you don't always get (I always appreciate a hair dryer!) I especially appreciated the thick curtains that allowed little light in in the morning for a sound sleep in - unlike the last place we stayed with a skylight directly above the bed! Debbie at the front desk was most friendly and helpful, especially with organising a late check out. The pool was lovely too; just wish we had time to check out the spa too. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Do come again, and we offer a great loyalty programme too!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Really enjoy staying here, especially on the top floor, as has lovely views. Very comfortable rooms, and lovely facilities, for a very affordable price too. We can recommend the bar area, as the service is always prompt & friendly. Tasty food served too.

Room Tip: We always ask for the top floor, as its quiet and love waking up to the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is about the third time i have stayed here over the years, has recently been renovated in all units.
I found myself at last minute going to Taupo, so gave them a call, $99 for a room is super cheap, and it is nice, a queen and a single bed, and a large screen TV on wall,

Bathroom was spotless, probably the cleanest I have seen in a hotel or motel ever.

Chose the buffet breakfast option also, which was convenient and worth it, as can eat and get on with your day, rather than trying to sort out a cafe near by

nice blackout curtains, makes room very dark and get a good nights sleep

A little out of town, but only by 5 minutes drive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments, we appreciate the feedback. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Room decent size and pleased with refurbished bathroom. Cold at night as only single glazed metal windows which are not good at keeping out the cold! Cleaners very efficient and comfy beds. A bit annoying that I needed a bottle opener for a beer and the receptionist said their only bottle openers were attached to the bar! Also no cutlery in the room except for one teaspoon. It should not be necessary to ask for such basic things as cutlery in a motel type room. Finally the cooked breakfast on offer today was appalling, the bacon tasted like it had been cooked for hours and was so tough I left most of it as it could not be cut! The only saving grace was the scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your breakfast, and apologise that you didn't find it up to scratch. As we are a hotel with a restaurant, not a motel, we do not have kitchens, only tea & coffee making facilities, however we are more than happy to provide cutlery should our guests require it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed at this resort between Christmas 2013 and New Year. From our arrival the receptionist was warm and friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean, however the bathroom needed attention. The corner where the shower screen joined the bath needed a good a clean. The trap in the floor needed uplifting and cleaning also. The outside bathroom window whilst hard to reach, needed a clean. The room was lovely and quiet with no traffic noise. We ate dinner in the restaurant on site. The meals were great & so was the service. You do need to make a reservation as it gets very busy. We had a good breakfast, even though restaurant was very busy we did not have to wait for a table like a lot of people. The juice was very watered down, however upon mentioning it the staff was more than happy to add more fruit juice. Upon leaving the resort the receptionist was very friendly.

Room Tip: Upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Our sincere apologies that you found the bathroom was not up to our usual standard as we do pride ourselves on our cleanliness here. I have addressed the situation with our housekeeping department, and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeland Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeland Resort Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.