We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taupo hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeland Resort Taupo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeland Resort Taupo to your Saves list
Lakeland Resort Taupo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Taupo hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location at the south end of of the lakefront. Friendly hardworking staff. The unit was clean and tidy and had a 42 inch tv on the wall in the spa bath studio unit. Te bathroom and unit were newly refurbished. Good amount of parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed our 'Taupo Hospitality". Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    52
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
56
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in a superior spa room 1st & 2nd of April.

Good Value for money, good facilities and friendly staff.

Will stay again when we are in Taupo next. The superior spa room only has a small spa bath, however the resorts spas are nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Great, we'd love to have you back. Don't forget to ask for a Loyalty Card on your next visit. "Stay 9 nights & get your 10th night free".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is more of a cheap motel rather than a resort. The rooms were basic and small. Facilities such as a kettle and ironing board were included but no washing machine or clothes dryer. The lock to our room was broken and we could not enter the room after checking in and so we were transferred to another room. The bed sagged quite a bit and was uncomfortable. House keeping was daily. Tennis courts are on site and do not cost extra. Parking is also on site and does not cost extra.The breakfast was atrocious and not worth paying for. There was limited variety and what was there was of poor quality and cheap. I asked the staff if they had soy milk (I cannot have dairy) and they checked and told me they did not and that I usually need to let them know in advance. I then asked if I could have some soy milk for the following day and I was told by the same woman that "it depends if the kitchen has some or not". It would be better to travel less than 5 minutes up the car by road for breakfast at one of the cafes in the town centre. The best feature of this hotel is that is within 5 minutes by car of the town centre. The hotel is fine to stay at for 1 or 2 nights if you are looking for budget accommodation but I would look elsewhere for anything more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our breakfast as we find this to be a particulary popular part of our guests stay. Please be assured that we only use fresh products of which are purchased from a very reputable company, therefore the quality is a of very high standard.

We do also have laundry facilties on site. The Lakeland features a guest laundry with both washing machines & dryers available for our guests use.

We trust we can welcome you back to The Lakeland again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A very clean and well appointed room, they have clearly been recently updated. All basics were included (Kettle, ironing board, soaps etc). Staff were friendly and breakfast had hot and cold options. Central location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Clean basic and comfortable rooms. Enjoyable breakfast with a good selection. Pleasant service from the staff. The reward card is a good idea too. We enjoyed being out of the town centre and within an easy walk to the lake. Nice views.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor so you can take advantage of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks, and we agree - the views are lovely! Our Loyalty card is a great incentive for regular visitors to Taupo.. "Stay 9 nights and get your 10th night free".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a fairly large two-storey hotel, and takes coach tours (there is noting more annoying than a bus idling for 20 minutes outside your room). The fact I was able to get a booking between Christmas and New Year shows they have a lot of rooms to fill. But that meant good value. The room was typical hotel (only coffee making facilities, sorry), but appeared to have been 'recently upgraded' as promised with a 40" LCD TV. Didn't try the restaurant (got put off by the 'bog standard' menu) and decided to have breakfast in Taupo. Went for a night walk along the lakefront, where there are hot streams flowing in. We got what we paid for, thanks.

Room Tip: Avoid the bus park area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for mentioning the 'idling bus' in your review and bringing to this our attention. I agree, no one wants to hear that when they're trying to have a sleep in. I have taken your comments direct to the bus company and they have assured me that they will be reveiwing their policy regarding the starting of the buses in front of guests rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Room was just what you expect for the $$ paid, price is pretty fair with breakfast etc, breakfast buffet is basic but decent enough. Would definitely avoid the restaurant for dinner- staff were limited and atmosphere lacking and the food was not made as fresh as it should. Entree' was chicken satay with a bottle sauce for dipping, garlic calamari had was supposed to have wasabi aoli- it was simply tartare- not impressed, dinner was salmon with Asian dressing (from a bottle also by the taste of it) but the salmon was well cooked, dinner of seafood platter was ALL out of a packet - frozen calamari rings etc. So to sum it up- ok and fair price to stay accommodation wise, but skip the restaurant for any meals other than an included breakfast.
Reception staff lovely and pleasant too...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I am very sorry to hear of your experience dining in our restaurant. I have spoken with the kitchen regarding the wrong ingredients with your calamari meal as I agree that this is not good enough and should not have happened. Please be assured that our meals are always prepared to a very high standard and our restaurant does have a very good reputation amongst both new guests and all our regular clientele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeland Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeland Resort Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.