We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in town - maybe even in the North Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
17 Tamamutu Street | Taupo Central, Taupo, New Zealand
+64 7-377 3111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 109 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best food in town - maybe even in the North Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by with no reservation on a Thursday night. Mouth watering amazing food! Free bread and Amuse Bouche, we shared an entree (calamari lemon gnocchi, which they kindly plated separately for us), and had a main each (fish of the day --- most amazing dish ever! And the duck). We were extremely full. The prices are extremely reasonable, the staff were lovely and attentive, and food is amazing. Go there! Now!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    33
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Little Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a busy little place on a Tuesday night. We were lucky to get a table in the middle of the dining room as we did not make a reservation and they were fully booked.
Every Tuesday night, the special was steak, eggs and chips with a glass of beer for $29.- We had that and another fish dish. To start us off we were offered free home baked bread with olive oil dip and raw fish on spoons. However we still order an entree of tempura veges which was nice and unusual.
Both our dishes were delicious, the steak was done perfect and tasty; and the bluenose dish with the vegetables were well matched too. The beer was very nice too. We really enjoyed it very much and it was really good value with all the extras that we were given to start with.
We highly recommended this restaurant to all the visitors to Taupo. And reservation is essential !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lucky choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We chanced upon the Bistro Tamamutu on a nasty cold dark Saturday night after a late drive from Auckland. Had booked into another restaurant on the lake front only to be told on arrival that they couldn't accommodate us after all - and this was at 7pm. So a slow drive around town finally found this delightful little place. It was busy but they still had room for a group of three adults and four children - three of them under the age of ten. Nothing was too much trouble, excellent food, very reasonable prices. We will be telling people to forget about the views of the lake and look for this little place in the back streets. Most of the patrons seemed to be locals. That tells you something.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner @ Jude's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to The Bistro & my Duck Leg was a taste bud delight,topped with a choc/balsamic ganache (hello) !!! The pickled cabbage & pineapple complimented well & kumara rounded it off. My lady had the steak as is her passion & devoured every mouthful. This was our 2nd visit, the first was with a group of 10 when "everyone" commented on the amazing flavours in the various dishes. Highly commended for taste,value & service. Thank you to Jude & the Bistro team !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“High end delights at bistro prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Surprisingly skilled chef at work with a range of flavours and great techniques whihc brightened up a winters night, My dining partner went wow wow over crispy pork which she loved and i really enjoyed how he handled the tuna steak - The latter a lesson on why you should go for the dish of the day. Chef Jude Messenger even chatted with us sharing his complex pork preparatory techniques. You dont expect this internaional standard ofcuisine in the middle of touristy Taupo

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.