We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
17 Tamamutu Street | Taupo Central, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
+64 7-377 3111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Bistro is a small family owned restaurant focused on simple clean flavours and honest tasty food from fresh local produce, all in a relaxed causal setting to provide our guests with moments that last a life time.
Taupo, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were recommended to try this new restaurant and what a lovely experience we had. All of us in our party of 8 had fantastic meals. The combination of flavors were amazing and we could not fault any part of the experience we had. We would highly recommend this restaurant. Lovely friendly relaxed service also/

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    56
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A delightful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

As a group of four Mum's who don't get the opportunity to dine out together very often I was looking forward to eating at Bistro and was not disappointed.
We all had three courses each from the menu and everything was beautiful. I ordered the mussels which I had to share because the portion size was generous. Duck for my main course which was melt in the mouth tender and the creme brûlée for desert was devine.
I will be back to try more from the menu. Will recommend to friends. Well done!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
“Devine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Eight of us dined at The Bistro on Friday evening. Every meal was Devine!
I personally had the pork with stone fruit. I was hoping for 'yummy' and got exquisite!
Lovely atmosphere, great service, fair prices.
Highly recommend! Best meal in Taupo!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Congratulations to the chef. The food is superb, outstanding. I had the pork sirloin with maple dressing infused with bayleaf (French inspired). The flavours were amazing. A truly outstanding dish. The apple tart was delicious, very crisp light pastry with a light glaze. The lemongrass and ginger icecream is to die for. Yum! Yum! Yum! The service was great. The staff friendly and helpful. Just the right amount of wait time between courses. The chef took time out to answer my questions which I really appreciated. Thank you so much for a wonderful gastronomical experience. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Not very great service from majority off staff (only the maori lady did really well)
Food wasn't that great either, small portions, and they try to fill you up with a slice of bread and an amuse. Don't understand what the sour mushrooms were doing with the duck, didn't go well together. Beef didnt have much flavor. Chocolate treats we ordered with coffee were bitter, obviously only cocoa powder..

Bit of work to do..

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.