We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been excellent except for the pork” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai House Express

Thai House Express
Thais Restaurant, Taupo, New Zealand
+64 7-378 6610
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 89 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: Thai
Description: Only been open since about mid 2012
Restaurant details
Description: Only been open since about mid 2012
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Would have been excellent except for the pork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had been travelling for some time and wanted a meal with lots of vegetables and asian food always hits that mark. It has quite an extensive menu, order at the counter and the meals come out reasonably fast. It's clean; the food is tasty, the service is good and the price is very reasonable. We dined twice out of the three nights we were in Taupo and enjoyed all of the four dishes we ordered except for always the pork dish.

One night was the barbecued pork - the sauce was a little overpowering and didn't really add to its taste (I think the sauce used to marinate the pork was then used to make the sauce - would have been better without it) and the pork was a little on the chewy side. The second night we ordered roast pork - simply a pork chop with an attempt at crackling the rind on the chop - also a little on the chewy side.

The second night's meal seemed tastier and even the beef and chicken seemed better cooked and more tender. So a little variable on each of the nights but overall we were happy with service, price and flavour of the dishes chosen.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved this place - great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

There was nothing to dislike. Staff friendly and helpful. A good choice on the menu without overdoing it and the food that was presented was full of flavour esp the spring rolls. Not overdone and not overspiced. I recommend it to anyone who likes Thai food

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really nice place to be, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After mixed experiences, my girlfriend and I stopped by Thai House Express. We arrived just after opening (they open quite late for lunch at 12pm) and ordered our meal - deep fried scallops ($8), Pak Cha (Seafood salad, about $13), and Red Curry Duck (Gaeng Daeng Larb - about $13) - they probably could have sold me a soft drink too, but the drinks were not clearly visible from the counter so I managed to force myself away from temptation.

Sitting down, the restaurant was very well presented, seating is American traditional cubicle style seating, which makes things more private (this is how I like it). I noted that there were quite a few flies around, but that there was no food left lying around and it was a hot day so it may have been the weather.

Food arrived, and was all very big, and tasting it we were pleasantly surprised! All very nice, not too sweet, and not too spicy. The oysters were real value for money, but the sauces should have been left to one side, rather than put on top of the oyster so that the customer has a choice of how they want their oyster to taste, the sesame soy sauce was a little too sweet for me but still lovely.

The guy behind the counter was a little unfriendly, but this seemed to be more that he was shy rather than genuine unfriendliness - later chats confirmed this as he had not been in NZ for very long.

Really loved the food, the service, the central location (near McDonalds, beside the lakeside) and the layout. Would happily go back next trip to Taupo... infact, we were disappointed that we left at 11am the next day and could not eat there again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A regular at Thai express, always clean, great service, fast and fresh food.... Never disappoints....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunyip
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

There's not much fancy about the decor, but the food was really fresh and tasty, getting the nod from everyone at our table,which considering we had grandparents, parents and young kids sharing the entrees and mains was a good effort. It didn't have a children's menu, which we were pleased about, actually. It was really well priced, too. Don't forget to BYO.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai House Express also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
 

Been to Thai House Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai House Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.