We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waikato River Kayak Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours

Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours
54 Spa Rd, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
07-378-1003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 57 Activities in Taupo
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Lake Taupo and the Waikato River with Taupo's specialist Kayak Store - Canoe and kayak Taupo! Choose from 2 fully guided tours: *Maori Carvings Tour (4 hours - $95 per person) Kayak on Australasia's largest fresh water lake to the impressive Maori Carvings (15m high) while gazing at 3 live Volcano's across the Lake! Combine kayaking on crystal clear waters, swimming, exploring nearby caves, learning about the cultural and historical significance while being entertained by your qualified, friendly and knowledgable guide. The carvings are only accessible by boat and this is an experience not to be missed during your stay in Taupo.*Waikato River Float Trip (2 hours - $49 per adult, $29 per child, $135 family pass for 2 adults + 2 children)Cruise from the source of the Waikato River to Reids Farm in your own kayak on this fantastic guided tour. You will pass by various Islands, paddle underneath the Taupo Bungy site and even stop at natural hot pools for a soak in waters up to 40 degrees. No experience necessary, all equipment and guides are provided. We look forward to hearing from you. Dave, Laura and Mike
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Waikato River Kayak Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful kayak trip!! Laura was very thorough in explaining our options and what would work best for the kids. We rescheduled another day trip so that we could take advantage of a better weather forecast for kayaking in July.
Our daughter thinks Nui, the store mascot, stole the show and her heart when he jumped in a kayak with her.
River Ron was a great guide and we really enjoyed the dip in the thermal pools. Thanks for the pictures from our little tour!
All in all great people, great store, great river experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sk1er, Instructor at Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review. Nui does steal a lot of hearts, it's hard to compete for popularity when he's around! It was a pleasure having you kayak with us and Ron's very chuffed to get a mention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Waikato River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our family (kids age 13,11,6 and 4) took the 2 hour kayak trip with Dave after Laura advised us that the Maori carvings trip would be too strenuous for the kids. So glad we went with her advice. Dave was fantastic with the kids, gave us interesting info but allowed us space to enjoy it as a family too. The soak in the thermal waters along the way was a huge hit. Laura was there to meet us at the end, with the van warmed up ready for us. They provided waterproof jackets, saving us the mess when we got home. Lovely scenery. Great company. And the new office on Spa Road is easy to find. Many thanks for the memories.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sk1er, Instructor at Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Anya and family. We're glad you enjoyed the paddle and the hot pools. The warmed-up van has proven to be popular with people getting off the water this winter, too. Dave's a big kid himself so I'm sure he loved the as much as your family did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely staff, a great way to explore another side of Taupo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friends and I had booked the Waikato River Discovery trip a while back. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by friendly and welcoming staff. Laura, our guide and one of the owners, was really lovely and knowledgeable. Nearing the end of the trip, we stopped by the Spa Thermal Park and had a soak. The 1 1/2- 2 hour guided trip is well worth the price you pay; highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sk1er, Instructor at Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the kayaking and hot water streams. It's a privilege to be able to show off these amazing places!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful paddle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I did the Maori carvings paddle recently and had a wonderful time. The paddle was well organised and interesting. The weather was perfect. The setting is gorgeous with the snow capped mountains as a stunning backdrop. I would recommend this paddle with Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours to anyone wanting a easy relaxing way to explore the lake and the carvings. It is definitely suitable to beginners.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanoeandKayakTaupo, Instructor at Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We're glad we could turn on the good weather for you, it's an incredible trip with the sun out and glassy still water!
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne
2 reviews
“Family tour on Waikato”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

On our NZ tour, we looked for a kayak tour with our 5y old son. We made it with C+K Taupo and it was an easy relaxing kayak tour. Well-organised and definitely suitable for us as a family.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanoeandKayakTaupo, Instructor at Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We're very excited to be able to offer a tour where even young kids can get to go kayaking on a pretty amazing river. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the Waikato River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours also viewed

 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.