We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours

Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours
54 Spa Rd, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
07-378-1003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 57 Activities in Taupo
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Lake Taupo and the Waikato River with Taupo's specialist Kayak Store - Canoe and kayak Taupo! Choose from 2 fully guided tours: *Maori Carvings Tour (4 hours - $95 per person) Kayak on Australasia's largest fresh water lake to the impressive Maori Carvings (15m high) while gazing at 3 live Volcano's across the Lake! Combine kayaking on crystal clear waters, swimming, exploring nearby caves, learning about the cultural and historical significance while being entertained by your qualified, friendly and knowledgable guide. The carvings are only accessible by boat and this is an experience not to be missed during your stay in Taupo.*Waikato River Float Trip (2 hours - $49 per adult, $29 per child, $135 family pass for 2 adults + 2 children)Cruise from the source of the Waikato River to Reids Farm in your own kayak on this fantastic guided tour. You will pass by various Islands, paddle underneath the Taupo Bungy site and even stop at natural hot pools for a soak in waters up to 40 degrees. No experience necessary, all equipment and guides are provided. We look forward to hearing from you. Dave, Laura and Mike
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a great morning out. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Booking process was easy and they even emailed us some pictures afterwards.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanoeandKayakTaupo, Instructor at Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your kayak trip. It's always a pleasure to share the beauty of the Taupo area and hopefully get some new people excited about kayaking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Awesome tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We did the 2 hour tour and it was perfectly organised.
No pressure at all, everyone was so laid back so that it was just so relaxing.
We had a stop at the hot pools and plenty of time to go for a swim.
Our guide clair was very kind and gave us heaps of information about the river.
Overall a very good way to spend your time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanoeandKayakTaupo, Instructor at Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed kayaking on the Waikat River with us. It's a pleasure to be able to share such a beautiful part of New Zealand and show people the places you can access by kayak.
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best part of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First review on TripAdvisor but the trip was, on reflection, the best thing we did on our week tour of North Island.

We did the 2 hour Waikoto Float Trip. Turned up with the team expecting us and got us ready for the short trip down to the river. Everything was very relaxed and it was just two of us and Dave, the guide. Great morning with a simple kayak down the very clear river, stopping to watch a bungee jumper then getting out the kayak at the hot pools for a swim. Nothing was any trouble for Dave and he took some photos of us that were emailed to us later on.

Compared to a lot of the overly commercialised trips in the area, this was a breath of fresh air and exceptional value.

Would suggest this to anyone who is in the area. Great way to spend a morning, friendly guides, ridiculous value for money, free photos, efficient transport back and forth from river and a trip to the hot pools thrown in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanoeandKayakTaupo, Instructor at Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We're so happy to hear that kayaking was the best thing you did on the North Island, although a lot of credit must go to the crystal clear water and beautiful surroundings! Dave will be glad to know that you guys enjoyed his tour as much as he enjoys getting out on the water.
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

A must do in Taupo...canoeing in the Waikato river. We weren't very experienced with canoes. But for the mild, guided journey you really don't need any experience. Its a beautiful patch of river & lovely to explore at the leisurely pace we took. If you're lucky, you might even watch some people bungy jumping from a ledge down to the river below as you paddle in it yourself. there is even a stretch along the river where there is a hot water pool. We got off & enjoyed lying in the hot water for a few minutes.

This company had very reasonably priced tours & good guides. Happy to recommend them

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanoeandKayakTaupo, Instructor at Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
You're so right- The Waikato River Tour is a must do!
We're pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves and that we could guide you along such a beautiful section of the river.
Thanks for the feed back.
Kind regards,
The Team at Canoe and Kayak Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent trip to view Maori carvings on the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband, my daughter and her partner had an excellent morning paddling to the carvings, led by our guide Mike and joined by another couple who had also signed up for the tour. It is clear that each trip is tailored to the group. Everything was easy and convenient. I would highly recommend this company for their tours. Unforgettable day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanoeandKayakTaupo, Instructor at Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
So glad to hear that you guys enjoyed your kayak trip to the Maori Carvings. Mike remembers you guys (said you were so laid back it was like a day off for him!).
Thanks for writing a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours also viewed

 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe & Kayak Taupo Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.