We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice locate and will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelona Motel to your Saves list
Barcelona Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   21 Taniwha Street, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice locate and will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed over night during the labor weekend, staff are very welcoming, it located the center of the city, right next to the parknsave, 10 mins walk distance from the taupo lake.

We stayed in the double room unit, the room is really nice, most importantly, the owner george helped us arrange a one day taupo trip, and we had a great trip in taupo.

We will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a good place to stay. very close to taupo town center and everything. it takes you no more than 10 minutes walk to most avenues in taupo. I was there for taupo half marathon, it only took me 5 minutes by walking from my bedroom to the start line. the new owner george is a nice guy and gave us free upgrade to the new premium room and offered us an extra heater before we asked it.

the motel also has free wifi that is faster than most free wifi provided by other accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Booked in for one night. Unit was dirty, smelt really bad and was cold. Had heater on for a few hours and room would not heat up. Told reception we were leaving and reasons why and was offered a heater. Did not want to stay in a unit that was not up to standard. Found another motel that was above standard for a lesser price.

Room Tip: Check out unit before you pay
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Manager at Barcelona Motel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Our check in time is after 2:00 PM, and the lady arrived before 12:00. The room was just cleaned when they arrived, but still need a couple of hours to refresh the air because the last guest cooked in the unit. However, the lady insisted to check in right away. August is the most freezing month in Taupo, our large suites, especially the two-bedroom villa booked by the lady, would take a few moments to warm up. Usually we would help the guest to turn on the heaters before their arriving. The lady said they can handle it. So she just checked in. After more than 6 hours, at around 6:30 PM, the lady showed up in reception again without notice and complained that the room was cold and smelling bad. Even the motel was almost full at that time, the receptionist still offered another room to them. But the lady just rejected, "No, we already booked room in another motel, we only want to move out of here."

We checked the room later. It seems that the lady and her fiend spent the whole afternoon in the room. They used the free tea in the room and drank wine, watched TV, even pulled the duvet from bedroom to the couch in the lounge. Later the lady contacted us to ask for refund. Even with the fact that they used the room for the whole afternoon and left late, we still granted 50% refund to her. But obviously she was still not content, "It (this negative comment) is because you didn't give us full refund."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over night, staff very accommodating continental breakfast was good for 1$ each. I was very cold coming into the winter so they provided extra heater. I give this pace a 3 because it is an average place older in style but very accommodating. Very clean and great showers. No oven to cook. Fairly close. To town for shoppers. I would stay again if I was back in the area, you pay for what you get so if on a budget and you need a good clean place this is a good start.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stopped over at Taupo for a night before our journey to Wellington the next day. Receptionist was friendly and gave us a two-storey house to accommodate 7 of us, and near to the car park. Two rooms up stair can have three person occupancy and one single bed at the living room down stair. I think we were reasonably unlucky to have many of our room amenities, such as the heater and the grill pan were not working during our stay. Although we can get replacement of the grill set, the reception only able to give us a mini portable heater for so many of us. End up, those sleeping up stair were freezing cold for the whole night. I think there is a room for improvement.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We were staying in Barcelona Motel during the Easter holidays. It's one of the best holidays we had. Taupo is a nice holiday town and especially suitable for family. A lot of activities to do, such as boating and fishing, my kids love prawn fishing so much. The rooms of Barcelona Motel is friendly to family, too. We ordered a one-bedroom unit and there are 1 queen bed and 2 single beds, spacious for family with kids. The backyard has a huge lawn and my kids love the trampoline there.

Barcelona Motel is at town center not lake side. This may be problem to some people but not to us. Anyway, it's impossible to see the lake view after sunset, and we would never stay in room at day time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Had a one night stay in this motel & found it clean & comfortable. Decor maybe a little dated but the room had plenty of space plus unit we had on the ground floor had a back door which opened out to BBQ area where you can relax & have a drink while watching the children on the playground. In walking distance to the shops & restaurants. Loved the spa as very relaxing after a day in the car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Motel

Address: 21 Taniwha Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelona Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona Motel is housed in a Mediterranean-style complex and features a private courtyard. A 5-minute walk from Taupo’s town centre, it offers free parking on site and free Wi-Fi access.Heated apartments have a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, a stove and a microwave. There is a lounge area with sofa and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels.Guests can enjoy a gas barbecue at the hotel’s private courtyard. Parking for boats and trailers are available.A cooked/continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the comfort of guests’ own rooms.Motel Barcelona is a 5-minute walk from Gascoinge Street Bus Depot and Tongariro Street, the main shopping street. Taupo Airport is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.