We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huka Falls

Huka Falls
Off SH1, Taupo, New Zealand
07 378 9000
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 26 attractions in Taupo
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A must visit attraction in Taupo. The falls are amazing and walking tracks are well laid out and surrounded by beautiful scenery along the river. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    385
    86
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
“My Favorite Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I LOVE this trip up the river ~ i must go at least 4 times a yr , every time we have visitors its the first place i take them and EVERYONE is always totally impressed, the trip is suitable for all ages (literally), and incredibly good value. No matter which captain you have, they are so interesting and informative about the area giving a running commentary as you go ~ i honestly cant put into words just how fantastic the whole experience is so here's a link to a video if you still need convincing :-) http://bit.ly/1euaEZD just copy and paste to your browser

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Really lovely and worth a visit for some great photos. Easy access to the falls, you can get up closer with a boat tour if you want, gift shop and toilets available.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best seen by jet boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A great view via jet boat with lots of 360 turns. Great guide with Huka Falls jet boat happy to change booking times and gave extra time on the water. Good value and a fun start to our stay in Taupo..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Amazing place, Love visiting Taupo and have been to the falls each time I have been. Only downside is you have to pay to use the toilet and its expensive if you just want to buy a drink.
Nice walk from Spa Park along the edge of the river or if you are driving its about 3 minutes outside Taupo with the car park basically on the edge of the falls.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huka Falls also viewed

 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Huka Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huka Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Huka Falls to your Saves list