We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies weekend - fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poronui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Poronui to your Saves list
Poronui
Taharua Road, RD | PO Box 1941, Taupo 3351, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Foodies weekend - fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

WOW, what a weekend. Amazing place, fabulous accommodation, great food and wine and great company. Pity about the weather but we still managed to walk through the Safari Park and see all the wonderful animals. My husband would have loved to have had his gun with him!! Tom Bosley is a wonderful chef and Brian Bicknell really knows his wine. I would recommend this weekend to anyone. We will certainly be making it again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Omakau, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

16,000 acres of wilderness, lovely warm hospitality, your wishes met without breaking a sweat, a funky safari camp for an adventure sleeping by the river, superb food mostly grown on the farm, multiple places for your evening meal, not to mention the best fly fishing in the country. no wonder this is one of our favourites

As a private travel designer I send clients to Poronui. And they have all been happy.

Room Tip: The lodge suites are large and comfortable, but the Blake House is the gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Went to Poronui last year. All I can say it was top notch. The Stags were massive. I got a great 350 class stag and my father in law got a 430" stag. The rooms are great, the food is second to none. I only wish I could go back. Spent one day in wine country, that was a blast. I have never seen a place like this. The entire place is a post card. I flew from Atl Ga so it was a long ride, but I would do it again tomorrow. Only wish I had went trout fishing. Mistake on my part. If you go make sure you try the Sika deer steaks! On a scale of 1-10 , really a 11. We left with 2 great stags, 2 great sika, a fallow, ram, and a life time of memories. Trip of a life time. Oh yeah get them to show you the Blake house and the wine cellar.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have been there three times, This is the ultimate trout fishing in the Southern Hemisphere. The Ranch, the accommodation, The service all make Poro Nui a gfabulous Experience
I recommend this place to all Fly fishing aficionados .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Wonderful accommodations; in the wilderness, perfect place to ride horses, catch trout, shoot sporting clays, eat fabulous meals, drink great wines, meet charming Maori people... A perfect spot for experiencing some of the best of New Zealand!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Our company had a day trip to Poronui, as a team building and social function for staff and partners. We had a casual lunch followed by an afternoon of outdoor activities and BBQ dinner. The activities were well organised and great fun, and the food was lovely. Staff were friendly and very accommodating. We would recommend to other corporates for this type of event. I cannot rate the accommodation as we did not stay overnight.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintana Roo, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Excellent cooking, attentive staff, incredible fishing, comfortable comfortable comfortable...my only complaint, I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poronui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poronui

Address: Taharua Road, RD | PO Box 1941, Taupo 3351, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 16,000 acres of timeless wilderness is steeped in history and provides world class fly fishing for brown and rainbow trout, deer stalking and an abundance of native flora and wildlife. Outdoor activities include mountain biking, horse trekking and guided walking, while an Olympic standard sporting clays range, archery and target shooting are also available. Or simply relax with a massage, or a good book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Poronui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poronui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.