We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can go to one place in New Zealand, this is it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poronui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Poronui to your Saves list
Poronui
Taharua Road, RD | PO Box 1941, Taupo 3351, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Texarkana, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you can go to one place in New Zealand, this is it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Wonderful accommodations; in the wilderness, perfect place to ride horses, catch trout, shoot sporting clays, eat fabulous meals, drink great wines, meet charming Maori people... A perfect spot for experiencing some of the best of New Zealand!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Our company had a day trip to Poronui, as a team building and social function for staff and partners. We had a casual lunch followed by an afternoon of outdoor activities and BBQ dinner. The activities were well organised and great fun, and the food was lovely. Staff were friendly and very accommodating. We would recommend to other corporates for this type of event. I cannot rate the accommodation as we did not stay overnight.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintana Roo, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Excellent cooking, attentive staff, incredible fishing, comfortable comfortable comfortable...my only complaint, I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Poronui is a little piece of paradise. You can do as much or as little as you like.
The rooms are well appointed, with extremely comfortable beds and quality linens - a good nights sleep guaranteed, with the beautiful sound of the flowing river in the distance.

Staff are very welcoming and friendly and provide outstanding service. Food is prepared using fresh and local ingredients, and culinary delights abound.

Whatever the weather, this is a magic place to relax and enjoy the natural environment, the fantastic facilities, and a large range of activities - something to suit everyone. everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Had an awesome weekend at Poronui in the company of Al Brown, learning to be "Ready for The Wild". The weekend had masterchef challenges, hunting and fishing skills and loads of laughs. A fabulous weekend and highly recommended. The crew at Poronui are extremely professional and provided the most wonderfully exciting, relaxing and challenging weekend in a gorgeous setting with everything laid on.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matakana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

My friend and I did the 'ready for the wild challenge'. It exceeded our expectations in every way. We had an absolute blast and will be buzzing from it for a very long time.

The staff at Poronui were exceptional. They were so warm & friendly - even fun. They did anything they could to make our time at Poronui a great one. The food was great, as was the wine. The lodge was very homley. The rooms were warm and the beds were comfy.

The countryside was stunning. It was such a treat to wake up in the morning and look out over the river and the hills from the comfort of my warm bed and the fire.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

I squeezed a weekend at Poronui Ranch during a business trip in order to sample some of the famous New Zealand trout fishing. Not only was the trout fishing as good as advertised, the accomodations, staff, food and everything about Poronui was first class. Your fishing guide essentially took care of you from the time you arrived until the time you left, not just durig the fishing portion of the day. They ate meals with the guests as well as helped the staff in serving and cleaning and they were a great bunch of guys with some terrific stories. On the rivers, aside from being excellent guides, they made sure I was able to handle any of the wading and walking required and were right there if I needed any help. At the lodge, there was always plenty to eat and drink. The hardest part was deciding when to stop. The ranch is located in a spectacular valley and offers many activities for the non-fisher as well, including day trips to any of the truly spectacular areas of the North Island. Don't be fooled by the external pictures of the lodge. It is built to be inconspicuous high on the banks of the Taharua River. Everything inside is just beautifully done. The only caution I have is that the experience does not come cheap, especailly if you choose the helicopter fly-out options. But it is one experience I would pay for again.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poronui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poronui

Address: Taharua Road, RD | PO Box 1941, Taupo 3351, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 16,000 acres of timeless wilderness is steeped in history and provides world class fly fishing for brown and rainbow trout, deer stalking and an abundance of native flora and wildlife. Outdoor activities include mountain biking, horse trekking and guided walking, while an Olympic standard sporting clays range, archery and target shooting are also available. Or simply relax with a massage, or a good book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Poronui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poronui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.