We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spinach -v- Silverbeet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Cafe Taupo

Sierra Cafe Taupo
127 Tongariro Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
+64 7-376 7310
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 110 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $2 - $23
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bar, New Zealand, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Formerly known as Sierra Cafe, this iconic meeting place has undergone a major refurbishment with owners Vic and Grant taking it to a new level! With a new name, Victoria's, and a brand new look (think comfortable, warm, modern and classy), the cafe you know and love is now THE place to meet day AND night for delicious speciality coffee, funky cocktails and an amazing gastrocafe dining experience. Our fabulous breakfasts, scrumptious lunches are now joined by a new dinner menu prepared by our passionate in-house chefs and served by our friendly, knowledgeable team. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spinach -v- Silverbeet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This morning a friend and I had breakfast at Sierra Cafe in Taupo. I ordered an omelette with mushrooms & SPINACH and my friend ordered eggs bene with salmon & SPINACH. Unfortunately the spinach turned out to be silverbeet including the white stalk part !! Very disappointing. I don't know if they had "run-out" of spinach at 8.30 in the morning? (but if so this should have been mentioned to us when ordering ) or whether they try to pass off islverbeet as spinach all the time ?? According to my friend the potato cakes the eggs bene were on were very nice.
I intended asking the staff about this, but was deep in conversation, after having 2 very nice coffee's, that I forgot.
Don't advertise spinach if you are going to substitute it with silverbeet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“relaxing and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I enjoyed having a nice quiet lunch here with a friend so much that 2 days later I returned with another 2 friends. The place was very busy but the staff were very friendlyand helpful.We did not feel rushed to eat and make room for others and enjoyed a relaxing hour here. Our food arrived very quickly and was well presented and very nice. I had a hot water and this was no problem and even arrived with 2 slices of lemon and a toffee on the side. Definitly recomend to all ages. The bathroom facilities are very nice and clean situated down a short hall way at the back of the restaurant. They have a very large gas fire for in winter which looks very cosy with soft seating near it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“South Islanders visiting Taupo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate at the Sierra Cafe pretty every morning for brunch and the food and service from the staff is outstanding. I highly reccomend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We've had brunch here several times now and found the food to be consistently good. Not a place to rave about but good food at a reasonable price with average service. A handy place to stop when passing through with toilets available. Definitely a good range of food, cabinet choices as well as cooked meals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scrummy Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Delish food and coffee- the slices are a bit small ( and dear) but the muffins and scones are value for money as is the lunch type food. Nice having access to toilets too :-)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Cafe Taupo also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Sierra Cafe Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Cafe Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.