We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcome to New Zealand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Taupo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lake Taupo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Taupo Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   41 Mapara Rd | Acacia Bay, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty lodging in Taupo
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful welcome to New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Lake Taupo Lodge was our first stop in New Zealand and what a remarkable place to begin a memorable journey. The rooms are perfectly appointed with gorgeous views of the lake, and the chef prepared dinners and breakfasts are gourmet and delicious. Gary and his staff provided for our every need in a warm and friendly way. We truly felt welcomed in their beautiful home!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

As a private home, the Lodge would have been right up there in movie-star territory, with spectacular views over the lake, a gorgeous garden and large, super-luxurious rooms. Now, Gary & Shirley share their beautiful home with guests and provide a welcome to match the surroundings. We had a busy touring schedule but would have delighted in an extra day just lazing on the balcony of our suite drinking in the view and chilling out. Pricey by comparison with conventional hotels, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We wanted to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary in a special way, and Lake Taupo Lodge really delivered (along with some great weather!!) From the well appointed suite with fantastic lake views, the gorgeous garden, and the delicious breakfast we had a wonderful weekend. The icing on the cake was the friendly and efficient service - restaurants were recommended and bookings made, suggestions for walks given, and Gary and Shirley cracked open a bottle of Moet to celebrate our anniversary. We couldn't have had a more enjoyable time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at lake taupo lodge after huka lodge was fully booked, but we were very pleased with the reception. We were warmly welcomed by our lovely host Gary. He went out of his way for our restaurant reservation, which was heart-warming to see. Thanks for the wonderful stay and the fact that we met new people at the pre-dinner drinks :-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

When we were preparing for our holiday in New Zealand friends of ours recommended this amazing Lodge saying that their stay had been like a second honeymoon. They were not wrong! We were made to feel so relaxed, spoiled and welcome. Gary, Shirley and Baxter couldn't have done more to make our time with them so special. They were there to advise us whenever necessary but allowed us time and space to totally unwind. Their hospitality was second to none.
We still talk about our few days at Lake Taupo Lodge all the time and wonder whose socks are in Baxter's mouth as he happily runs around the garden!

Room Tip: We loved our lodge which was separate from the main house but we are sure they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I spent a wonderful Christmas at the lodge. The owners, Gary and Shirley, made our experience even more pleasant with their thoughtful arrangements of meals as well as a good fly fishing trip for my hubby. And not forgetting their friendly dog, Baxter.
Will certainly return the next time we are in Taupo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay in Taupo I would highly reccomend Lake Taupo Lodge. The rooms were great (very clean, great layout and nice architecture), very nice garden to over look with Lake Taupo in the background, and the hosts Gary and Shirley where extremely nice, accomodating and made us feel like we were at our own home. When we return we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Franklin room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Taupo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Taupo Lodge

Address: 41 Mapara Rd | Acacia Bay, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Taupo Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Taupo Lodge offers 5 star luxury accommodation with dinner by arrangement. The focus is on gracious living and the six guest suites are luxurious examples of world class accommodation.This award winning, luxury bed & breakfast lodge is a designer’s delight. Inspired by Frank Lloyd Wright, it is set within magnificent landscaped gardens overlooking beautiful Lake Taupo and the mountains.Lake Taupo Lodge prides itself in the care and attention that we put into our guests. From the moment you arrive you can relax and let us look after you in style and comfort.This is a large (10,000 sqm) multi faceted property with each room having its own lounge area as well as the large main lounge and dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Lake Taupo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Taupo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.