We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house and great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pillars Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pillars Retreat to your Saves list
The Pillars Retreat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Deborah Rise | Bonshaw Park, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Great house and great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

wonderful hosts in this lovely house were a great stop in the Taupo region. Only regret we had was not having time to chat a bit more. Their knowledge of NZ was great, and would recomend without a doubt this place.

Room Tip: One needs a car to access the place, but its a quick 5 mins drive from the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian J, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your review Peter and yes you were busy enjoying the Taupo area and all it has to offer.
Both Brian & i have extensive knowledge of New Zealand especially the South island where we lived for 25 years.Look forward to having you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at Brian and Gilly's accommodation. They are wonderful hosts, friendly, informative but not overpowering. We met them for drinks on the first evening at 6.00 for a friendly chat and information on the area. The room was spacious, clean and well decorated with a lovely view of the garden. We took advantage of the lovely gardens, swimming pool and tennis courts ( benefiting from the low net and the rest when we looked for lost balls!). Breakfasts are at a communal table and when we stayed we had enjoyable chats with fellow guests. All in all a stay a cut above the average, more expensive than others but value for money

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you Paul for your informative review. It was great to see you use the tennis court and pool while staying with us. We enjoyed our chats with you over a drink in the evenings and i am delighted that you felt we were value for money.The extras we offer we feel contribute to an all inclusive accommodation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Brian and Gilly are consummate hosts at The Pillars Retreat. Their hard work on the facilities and grounds and their commitment to making the guests' experience wonderful and memorable result in an accommodation establishment which is simply, World Class.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, its humbling to be called" World Class" ! Brian & i have worked hard this year since taking over the property last September, to refurbish the interior and grounds. Once the Autumn comes and we quieten down again we will continue with more improvements to enhance our guests stays. It has been a great first season and we have enjoyed the experience very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I were in New Zealand for the first time and after reading the great reviews decided to stay at the Pillars, we were not disappointed. Everything about our stay was first class, although we had booked fairly late and therefore had one of the smaller rooms, we had everything we needed and then some, the room was charming and very well appointed. During our stay we had a look at the other rooms (ready for our next visit!) which were all lovely, very spacious, very individual, perfect even for the most discerning of guests. The house and gardens were a delight, carefully tended by our hosts Gilly and Brian who we found to be really friendly and welcoming, making you feel like a house guest rather than a paying client, nothing was ever too much trouble, including restaurant recommendations and even reservations. Breakfast was delicious, real home cooking and as good as it gets. Unfortunately we only had 2 nights at the Pillars, would certainly like to have stayed longer, although with the lovely weather we were certainly able to make the most of the sightseeing/activities in the area. We would definitely love to go back and would thoroughly recommend this retreat to anyone.

Room Tip: The room with a California bed, balcony and HUGE bathroom, although all the rooms are lovely, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we strive to give all our guests a pleasant personalized stay with attention to detail in all that we do.I was particularly pleased to see that you felt like a" house guest" rather than a" paying client". Its great to see my home cooking enjoyed too, a chefs ultimate compliment ! We would be delighted to have you back to stay any time you are in Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Without doubt the best B&B we have stayed at. It is genuinely like being a house guest. Gilly and Brian are fantastic hosts. Great location, great rooms and brilliant breakfast. What more do you want!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you Mike for reviewing us. We shall never forget our evenings sitting out on the patio and chatting to you and Paula over a glass of good New Zealand wine. The sunsets were particularly beautiful when you stayed. It was good to see you relaxing with a good book beside the pool after your demanding walk in Tongario National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Pillars Retreat. Gilly and Brian are gracious hosts and made sure every detail was looked after. We sincerely appreciated how welcome they made us feel. Our accommodation was wonderful, we had a marvelous view. Everything was top notch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your review we did enjoy having you both to stay recently. We enjoy hosting guests from all over the world and making them feel welcome in our home. I hope the rest of your travels in New Zealand went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Enjoyed our night at the Pillars. Gilly and Brian were excellent hosts and the property was great. Only minor problem is that it is a bit out of Taupo and going for dinner is a bit of a drive.
Overall we enjoyed being in the country

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. Although we are approximately 8km easy drive into Taupo township, most of our guests like you appreciate the peace and quiet that the country affords. We are also very happy to drive you in to Taupo for dinner in the evenings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pillars Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Retreat

Address: 7 Deborah Rise | Bonshaw Park, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillars Retreat is a modern Mediterranean style country manor close to lake Taupo. Brian & Gilly Jenkins as your hosts will welcome you with a homemade afternoon tea, followed by an early evening glass of wine and nibbles.A hearty breakfast next morning is made from fresh local or home produce including eggs from our own hens.Set in 3 acres of park like grounds to explore,with a gazebo,pond,tennis court and swimming pool for you to relax and unwind.The Pillars has four large beautifully appointed upstairs ensuited guest rooms, three with own balconies.The Pillars Suite,our most luxurious, has a californian king bed and large bathroom with a stand alone shower, plus raised bath.Our other suites are either king, superking or californian king beds with three suites being made into twin beds if required. All rooms have under floor heating,flat screen TV,radio clock,gowns,slippers,iron and ironing board,hairdryer,Koha Spa toiletries,tea and coffee making facilities.Home baked cookies,fresh fruit,bottled water and chocolates also compliment all rooms.WiFi is free and available through out the house.We have a complimentary laundry for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pillars Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillars Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pillars Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.