We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, superb staff, friendly sociable hostel- highly recommend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rainbow Lodge to your Saves list
Rainbow Lodge
99 Titiraupenga St, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location, superb staff, friendly sociable hostel- highly recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in a single ensuite room on weekend of October 27th. The location is great- 5 mins into town, lake, supermarket and also en route to the hot pools and huka falls walkway- about 15 mins to start of walkway.

Staff here are superb and will do anything to help. Super friendly and can provide an abundance of information regarding activities and things to do. They can also book things for you too.

Rooms are simple but fine. Busy sociable hostel - so don't expect an overly quiet stay here. Very friendly place to stay and facilities are good.

Free coffee is actually very nice too!!

Overall a great stay and highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    58
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
41
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Rainbow Lodge is a warm friendly hostel with great atmosphere and nice staff! Nice kitchen/lounge and rooms. would recommend to anyone passing by Taupo. Just a few minutes walk into town.
....................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We took ata boys Hockey Team to Taupo for tournament week and stayed at Rainbow Losge. The facilities were superb, the staff were very friendly and helpful and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. The rooms, dorm rooms, we're of a decent size, the beds were really comfortable and the boys commented on how nice the place was. We go away every year and this is one of the nicest backpacker type accommodations we have been to.
It is really close to town, easy walking distance, and supermarkets and all manner of shops are really close by. It is even just a short walk to the lake.
Thanks so much to the lovely staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here, its a really cool place. The staff are lovely and really friendly, its a good location and the rates are reasonable. The rooms are clean as are the bathrooms. The kitchen is really big and they have various different things going on most nights, from movie nights to pizza nights. This is a quirky little hostel with lots of character and i would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here in a double room for two nights back in February 2012. To try and start with the positives about this hostel, I should say that the guy who runs it was very friendly and helpful towards us, as he provided a free pick up from the Intercity coach station (we just had to call him when we arrived) and even went as far as to give us a free drop-off back at the coach station on the day we left. Also this is probably one of the cheapest hostels in Taupo, so it is a good option if your budget is limited. However, this is pretty much where the positives end. We actually stayed here for the first time about five years ago, when we first visited New Zealand and to be honest we weren’t very keen on it then and our recent stay did nothing to improve our impression. We hadn’t planned to return here but the hostel we wanted to stay at was fully booked and we were left with little alternative. The room itself was probably the smallest double that we’ve experienced as there was barely enough room to get in and out of bed and certainly nowhere to put your things other than on the floor or under the bed. The room looked very tired and shabby and also had a rather strange and unpleasant smell to it each time we returned, meaning we had to try and air it out quite regularly. The sheets and duvet cover also looked a bit questionable as they had several (hopefully old) stains on them. The rest of the hostel followed in the same vein really, as it looked like no maintenance work had been carried out in the five years since our first visit – and it looked tired back then! We didn’t cook anything in the kitchen (other than a bit of toast for breakfast) as all the surfaces and equipment just didn’t look particularly clean and the people staying there didn’t seem too keen on washing and drying their own dishes! The communal lounge/dining area is also pretty shabby, as are the bathrooms which weren’t massively pleasant to use. We also found that the morning cleaning was done in a fairly obstructive way as all of the bathrooms were out of action at the same time for over an hour (without warning), meaning we were caught out and had to brush our teeth over the kitchen sink one morning. I’m pretty puzzled as to how many good reviews there are of this hostel – I can only assume that most of those reviewers have stayed in en-suite rooms, which are located in a separate and newer building and I think are a lot nicer than those in the main building, which share bathroom facilities. All in all, I think it’s a shame that this place has not been given more care and attention as it could be a nice hostel if some money was invested to give it a face lift. I personally wouldn’t stay here again, but if you want somewhere cheap to sleep and are planning to eat out, then maybe it could be for you!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else (!) or pay the extra for a newer en-suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here for a few days and I liked it overall. I had been here back in 1997 and then returned many years later. Of course, I could see a difference...the place could use a bit of an update. However, it is a good hostel with many benefits. Lots of common space where you can relax and meet people, and something going on every evening. The rooms were good...some come with an ensuite. The staff is very nice and helpful and the hostel also books activities around the area. Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Rainbow Lodge stood out by a long long way as one of the best backpackers I had stayed at in New Zealand. Clean, comfortable and incredible value. I stayed in a double with ensuite bathroom and sky tv and couldn't believe how cheap it was. The communal areas were nice and warm and the staff were super helpful providing answers to all my questions. It's fab.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Address: 99 Titiraupenga St, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.