We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catelli's of Taupo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Catelli's of Taupo to your Saves list
Catelli's of Taupo
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   23-27 Rifle Range Rd, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi!
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Okay for the night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed as a family in a family unit, two beds in the lounge, one bed in the bedroom, had a spa attached. The spa took forever to fill as it is very deep, very old spa that has seen better days. Water tends to go everywhere once you get out, be careful not to slip. Water goes everywhere from the shower as well, tends to puddle by the door. Beds were nice and comfortable and the room was dark. Hard for all four of us to sit down for breakfast or dinner, very very small breakfast bar.
Enjoyed Taupo though and spent up large.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catellis, Owner at Catelli's of Taupo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for your review of Catellis Motel. As the new owner of Catellis Motel, we accept that there are a small number of projects that we are undertaking to update our facilities. We are refurbishing our spa pool units and have already made arrangements to program this work in. I had not been made aware of the ponding in the shower and have already made arrangements for this to be attended to. As with any business, new owners rely on positive feed back to ensure we can provide what are expectations of our guests, therefore I appreciate what you have raised. Perhaps if visiting Taupo in the future you may wish to stay at Catellis and experience some of the upgrades and once again enjoy the beauty that Taupo has to offer.

Regards
Terry & Kris Blewett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    53
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
101
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a lovely three night stay here and the room was very nice and seems to be well maintained.

Positives were that the owner seemed to take a genuine interest in my travels and suggested a terrific vantage point for views of the lake up Mapara Road near Acacia Bay. Faclities were good and the place was quiet.

Unfortunately there was no available safe in the room and the WiFi is limited to 5MB upload per day.

Overall, a very nice place to stay and greatly enhanced the enjoyment of my visit to Taupo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good location (around 5 minutes from the town center), but at the same time very quiet. Rooms were clean and tidy, and had all the expected amenities. Very reasonable pricing (around $150NZD for one night through Agoda).

Very knowledgeable and friendly staff that are very knowledgeable in the surrounding attractions.

Also all rooms have parking right outside the door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

As a starter Catelli's is particularly easy to access when coming from the South via State Highway 1. Probably so from the North as well but we were just grateful to get in quickly after a particularly long and frustrating drive. In addition, it is but a couple of minutes from the Lake and the stunning views to be had, especially if you want to nip out for photography at Sunset or Sunrise.

Units (we had two) were particularly capacious, beds comfortable and all facilities in a good state of maintenance. Not the place to attempt "Haute Cuisine" with a couple of portable electric rings and a microwave but you probably wouldn't want to do this in Taupo.

At $NZ 140 per night per unit in a major NZ resort at a peak weekend value was exemplary.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I just spent 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Rooms are a good size and beds are very comfortable. The owners are fantastic and go out of their way to help with local knowledge. If we ever find ourselves back at the lake we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay that was pet friendly and boy did we find it! We are so used to having to stay in sub-standard accommodations when travelling with our dog, so Catelli's was a real breath of fresh air. Such a lovely motel, with everything you could possibly need. On the way north we stayed in the unit with the spa which was a divine way to unwind after a long drive. We loved the accommodation so much we booked in for our southward journey and had a smaller unit. It was just as lovely. So nice to be able to have our (clean, well-behaved) pooch inside with us. Units were spotlessly clean and felt like good value for money (hard to find in Taupo). Minutes from the town-centre, but far enough away from the bars etc. to be nice and quiet. Plenty of parking. What really made Catelli's so lovely was the hospitality from Wendy and Denis - they bent over backwards to help us find a safe, secure space to park our boat and generally helped us with all our requirements in a welcoming and friendly way. We felt like we were staying with old friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Simply put, Wendy and Dennis are awesome hosts. They are very down to earth, easygoing, friendly and helpful. Feels like home from the time you arrive. Wendy was very good with our little baby girl and immediately on arrival gave her some toys to play with which she had lots of fun with. The rooms were a great size, with separate bedroom, clean, comfy bed and was well insulated. The air con was great (definitely needed in 29 degree celsius heat). Location is about 100m from the lake, 200m from a supermarket, and close to town. So win win as far as I was concerned. Importantly though, this place is good value for money. After being charged an arm and a leg for basic motel accommodation at other north island locations, it was great to finally feel we paid an honest price. Taupo location is great - recommend Huka falls (5 mins from town) and also drive to Mt Ruapehu (with some interesting walks and scenery e.g. The Lord of the Rings 'Mt Doom'). Mt Ruapehu takes just over an hour direct, but you should check out the Trout farm near Turangi on the way. Overall this was a highlight for our North Island holiday.

Room Tip: Any - there is no road noise and no upstairs noisy neighbours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catelli's of Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catelli's of Taupo

Address: 23-27 Rifle Range Rd, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#10 Family Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catelli's of Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning 4-Star Catelli's of Taupo is perfect for a peaceful stay just 2 minutes to the lake and 10 minutes walk to town. Stay a couple of nights and enjoy friendly hospitality and our beautiful region.18 modern units include spa and two-bedroom family suites, all with LCD TVs, DVD players, wireless internet, free DVD library, self-contained kitchens, two car parks & daily servicing. We welcome guests from around the world on business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Catelli's of Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catellis Hotel Taupo
Catellis Motel Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catelli's of Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.