We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, excellent views of the lake.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo to your Saves list
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330 , New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good, excellent views of the lake.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Easy to find and park. Excellent reception, friendly and efficient. Room was very good, spacious with all the facilities with balcony and good view of the lake. We had an excellent dinner in the hotel and got a good deal on two breakfasts both of which were very good. All the staff were good, efficient and friendly.
Downsides, only one, its a fair walk into town, about 30 minutes. That said, its very pretty around the lakeside.
Recommended hotel, we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Can't say, it was all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    126
    41
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
236
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel sits on the edge of lake taupo and we have been frequently over 20 years when our children were growing up. When we returned it didn't disappoint . Breakfast could be better however. There was not a lot to choose from. When we arrived we wanted dinner and they were fully booked but they were going to try and squeeze us in whichI thought was very nice. We had it in our room anyway. Still enjoyed my stay as I thought reception excelled to make a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the pool side room if you like a warm pool.If you really love hot water try the grotto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a large hotel an d we had a ground floor room with a sliding door onto a small porch with table and chairs to take advantage of the view over Lake Taupo, especially at night watching the sunset. Don't leave the door open at night, lots of flying bugs get in and difficult to get them out or even kill them. Also if you leave the door open during the day and aren't aware you may have a duck waddle in to say hello, as there are plenty of ducks wandering around on the grass out front.
The room was a good size with heavy drapes to block the afternoon sun out and prying eyes from people walking past on the walkway that goes along the lake frontage.
The bathroom was perfect for me as I have a mobility problem and we asked for a room with a roll/walk in shower. This gave me the piece of mind to enjoy a shower without having to worry about falling over trying to climb into a bath to have a shower. Just as importantly the entrance was a straight walk in bar a small lip from the corridor to the room.
Again I was able to park my wheel chair away so that it did not restrict the movement within the room. Mine is a fold up wheel chair.
The hotel is a fair way out of town so if you enjoy a walk it is a good flat walk, although we drove and that was about 10 minute drive.
We found this to be a comfortable place to stay and mobility friendly.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After an extremely disappointing stay in Rotorua, it was such a pleasure to stay at a this beautiful resort. We had no reservation and they accommodated us seeing the room first before we agreed to stay. We paid more than we usually do but it was well worth it. We had a king size bed, a spacious room, a roomy balcony to sit and relax and a restaurant and bar in the hotel. The hotel is right on Lake Taupo and we were treated every day with a gorgeous view and sunset. The staff were very helpful and there was wifi with the room. It's about a mile or so if you wanted to walk to town and there are many attractions nearby to take advantage of during our stay. We wished we could have stayed longer than the 2 nights we gave ourselves. Would definitely go back to Lake Taupo again and would certainly stay here again as well. Lovely stay and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't settle for anything but a lake view and the second floor probably would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

apart from not allocating room requested over a year ago and having to fight to get a room with a spa bath stay pretty good.Beds 1 queen, 1 double v. comfy, pillows rubbish (funny as other Millenium/Copthorne hotels pillows were great) bedding weird-thick coverlet over thin quilt over flat sheet, all tucked in like blankets, when undone ( so free movement as duvet would be ) flat (not fitted?) bottom sheet comes out as well!!Way too many bed cushions and furry throws, looks lovely when made up, but where do they go at night?
Settee opposite a picture and TV opposite beds, perhaps swapping them would be a good idea?
Mini bar so crammed with saleable goods, very little room for fresh milk and own water bottle.
Staff really helpful and friendly and the restaurant food really good-only had dinner-the free breakfast shown in the brochure wasnt available for the dates we were staying there-Meanies!!

Room Tip: on the ground floor rooms furthest from reception as there is a lobby separating the room door from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautifully situated right on the edge of the lake, with fabulous views.
We had a first floor room, no lift and no offer of help to get luggage up there. on the first evening we ordered four drinks in the bar which were so expensive, and tiny measures, which when we questioned the staff were told these were the correct prices, we then checked the food prices and decided to eat elsewhere at half the price

Room Tip: ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice, well-managed hotel. My room was on the ground floor and faced Lake Taupo.

Our group ate breakfast and dinner there. All food and service was very good. We took advantage of the common areas, the swimming pool, sauna, and the gym. Also, the hotel is not far from town and is manageable to go there on foot.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Taupo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#8 Family Hotel in Taupo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.