We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Save Saved
You added Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330 , New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 71 hotels in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June, great service, room, food etc. We had dinner here one night and the food was lovely. We were also booked in for breakfast and thought it was very good value. The bar was comfortable with a fire and cosy armchairs and the view over the lake was wonderful. Our room had a king size bed and lovely bathroom with walk-in shower. We were very satisfied and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Liz B - it was lovely to read of your pleasant stay with us and thank you for sharing your satisfaction in our restaurant and bar. Yes we are very fortunate to have such wonderful facilities and location.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day - best regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    97
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
183
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great room right on lake. Not all rooms are so best to ask. Large modern room with a seating area as well. Bathroom is a good size and has a spa bath. Nice restaurant and bar area very comfortable. Much better hotel than i would have expected.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Carleen 72 - thank you for sharing your review with readers and us - very pleased to read of you satisfaction with your stay - kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After many years we returned to enjoy Manuels which is an icon venue right on the lake front in Taupo. The warmth of the welcome by all staff members quickly over came the winter cold. The room (not the top of their range) was large and well appointed with a huge bed and spa bath. The Grotto brings a unique touch to the usual spa pool with a cavernous interior complete with drips from the stalactites! Lynn our bar person delivered service with great humour which our group thoroughly enjoyed. The Edgewater Restaurant provides exceptional views of the lake and the setting sun but more importantly beautifully prepared food I rate the duck as one of the best duck dishes I have had. My wife said the combination of koura and prawns in her entree was superb. Altogether an excellent weekend and we will return again soon..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Brian H - It is fabulous to read of your time with us - yes the GROTTO is amazing and enjoyed by so many over the years - your mention of Lynn is very much appreciated thank you .
Hope to welcome you back again in the near future - kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of 25 Ladies on a Harley-Davidson Garage Ride. What a truly wonderful experience , from the time I made the booking to the time we left. Staff were great, Peter Boyle the manager could not have been more helpful and a great host to all of us. bike parking area was coned off for us which made parking the bikes very easy. We were given our own room for dinner which was great, as you could imagine 25 women did get a little loud, lol... Dinner and breakfast was fabulous and very generous. Rooms were all lake view and very well appointed, clean and spacious. Our Harley-Davidson Riders truly enjoyed there experience at the hotel. So a very big thanks and I,m sure that it won't be just me that returns. Thank you very much

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Annrod - our hotel absolutely loved having your group stay also thank you for your praises and hopefully we will see you again.Best wishes Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location, outside didn't entice me but great once you step through doors. Room clean but bathrooms need updating, staff friendly and helpfull. Need vehicle as a bit out of town, but we loved the chance to stretch our legs and take a walk along the lake edge.

Room Tip: Request room facing away from parking area and road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear jeni57mick - we really appreciate you sharing your thoughts and experiences with Tripadvisor readrers - thank you. pleased to know that you enjoyed our location so much also. Cheers Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Many places say they're on the lake front, this place literally is. No busy road between you and the view, rooms open straight up onto the lake. Great facilities, grotto is cool. Only thing is the bathrooms need an upgrade (neat and clean just need a facelift!) and the place is 3kms from the town centre so either a long walk (nice walk along the water) or a taxi trip in for dinners etc.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Nancyness 33 - thank you for sharing your review - pleased to hear that you enjoyed lakefront location. Your bathroom comments are appreciated - there are many room types to consider for this review, but please refer with any future booking, as there may be another option available. Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lake Taupo is beautiful, and Millennium is absolute lake-front, no road in between. Nice room (bit dark) but QS bed only, not KS. Out of the town centre, really need to drive for meals etc but thats fine as long as youre not drinking.

Room Tip: Ask for lakefront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Patmn - it is good to hear that you enjoyed our location - we do try to provide a good variety for guests dining and have an excellent reputation in Edgewater for evening meals, which proves to delight most of our guests - many thatks Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.