We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, beautiful, clean and aesthetically pleasing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo to your Saves list
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330 , New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MelbourneMelbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable, beautiful, clean and aesthetically pleasing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our stay here was very relaxed and comfortable. The amenities are excellent. There's a place in the suites to sit down, chill and relax. The coffee making facilities are plentiful with 4 mugs and 4 cups and saucers per room. This is accompanied by wine glasses and tumblers, enough if you are receiving a visitor. The sitting room is cosy and made for entertaining. I imagine that in the wing we stayed in the configuration is similar throughout. Breakfast was good, the buffet had platters of fresh fruit, pastries as well as the usual. The scrambled eggs were very good. Breakfast was included and there was no confusion with our account. The restaurant was good, not quite what I would call fine dining but a good standard. Taupo is beautiful and so was our accommodation. We would like to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear AriMelbourne - very pleased to read of your experiencesat our hotel and I only hope too that you will return for a longer stay next visit. Many thanks for taking the time to write Regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    126
    41
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
236
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is right on the edge of Lake Taupo (about 10m from the water's edge) with stunning views at sunset. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The Edgewater restaurant on the premises is exceptional and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a lakeview room! (they might all face the lake, but I'm not sure.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear brutasauras - apprecaite your feedback re our lovely sunsets and Edgewater - thank you for sharing
cheers Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I like staying at this hotel and have done so for several years. The staff are friendly and being right by the Lake makes an attractive setting. I had a car so not being right in town didn't matter. I like to go for runs along the lake shore.

I only stayed 2 nights and liked having the option of not having the room serviced on my middle day. This avoided my being disturbed and also having to take the decorative pillows off the bed when I went to bed. I had the buffet breakfast and it provided all that I want - it is nice to sit so close to the Lake while eating.

I didn't use the pool this time but, on a previous trip, would have liked it a little hotter (perhaps everyone has different wishes).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you MatthewA - it is good to read your feedback about privacy during your stay. Helps us with improving guest services. thank you for your regular returns and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My girl friend and I got a chance to stay at this amazing property during the long Easter weekend. I had booked a Jr King Suite. The decor of the room was just amazing. Balcony had a great view of Lake Taupo and the mountains beyond.

This property is right at the shores of Lake Taupo. One of the best properties I have stayed in.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and surely gonna visit this property over and again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear AmitK thank you for sharing this with us and readers, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. cheers Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful spot. This is on the lake and rooms open out into the lakefront trail, with balconies or patios.

Rooms are spacious, with great facilities. There was a good bar and the restaurant had good things said about it. Friendly staff. A short drive from town, free parking, perhaps 20 minutes or half hour walk.

Have a look around for options, but this one is comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear NZEmma - thnk you for sharing your praises with us and readers - so pleased you enjoyed our location and views etc Hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again in the future. Cheers Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We upgraded to a junior lakeview suite for a good rate and the bedroom itself was nicely furnished and comfortable. The room also had a superb view of the lake. The bathroom was very large but extremely dated and with no towel rail so we used the clothes hook on the back of the door so towels were always wet. Wifi is not free in the hotel which we found remarkable given that we travel extensively and most hotels offer this free for all guests. No safe in the room- I phoned down to reception and was offered a safety deposit box behind reception. However, when I asked why the room (which was more expensive due to the upgrade) did not have a safe the receptionist appeared irritated by my dissatisfaction. We eventually were able to leave our laptop etc. behind reception as they would not fit in a safety deposit box. Again reception seemed irritated that we wanted only some of our belongings on occasion. I find this lack of basic amenity incredible. Breakfast was a drab affair but with a great view of the lake and pleasant staff. Room service was however, excellent. This hotel appears complacent due to its location but cannot compare to the customer service being offered elsewhere in NZ. We will be back in Taupo but not here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear pOrtia, I am very disappointed to read your review as this is far for what our good reputation is built on, or what daily feedback is about our very friendly happy staff. I honestly do not know what happened to cause this experience for you. Your room safe comment I agree with and want readers to know that we are replacing safes as we can however, we also have not had problems before with the office safety deposit system we have in place now. Wireless connection is now in every room - new rate plans are in place and proving very acceptable, I am sorry your stay with us was not pleasing. Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed two nights in a ground floor Lakefront room. The room was clean and modern and while the sleeping area was reasonably sized the bathroom with very tight shower was small. We are both average sized people, anyone slightly bigger would have had trouble turning around in there. Our room was next to the restaurant and directly in front of the pool (which was lovely and warm). Unfortunately it made it quite noisy with people in the pool splashing, jumping and generally being quite loud. We also had a lot of noise from upstairs all evening, both nights with walking back and forth and continually opening and closing the sliding door, and their shower door too. Other guests walking to and from their rooms/restaurant past our door was also very noisy as the pathway in that area isn't on a concrete base.

Had we not had to put up with so much noise the price per night might have almost been acceptable. However selling that room at that rate is quite overpriced for the quality of the stay.

Would not stay again at that price which is a shame as the location is lovely, and given that we had our bikes with us we loved the ride into town and around the boat harbour.

Room Tip: Lakefront rooms are lovely but get an upstairs one, or if you are after a ground floor one with dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Dilli2004 - your feedback is appreciated to bring awareness of any disappointments guests may have and enable us to prevent future problems. Point taken about noise around the pool area and we will try to be more aware of this for future bookings - these rooms are often requested by families whose children use the pool. We do have many other room types available and I am happy to help with this should you feel confident about our services again - many others have bigger bathrooms with spa baths as well.
Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.