We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT couldnt of asked for better service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acapulco Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Acapulco Motor Inn to your Saves list
Acapulco Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT couldnt of asked for better service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Me and my sister recently booked to stay at this motel via booking.com. we were told that the standard studio had a double and sofa bed so on arriving at the motel and getting to our room, we noticed this was not the case. I went down to reception and Robert the owner was nothing but helpful. He apologised for the mix up from booking.com and offered for us to stay in one of the spa studios for 2 of the 4 nights we were there. He said there would be an extra $10 a night charge but we were more than happy to pay. We got into our new room and it was fantastic. There was plenty of room and a big spa bath in the bathroom. we were staying there over Christmas so we decided to take some decorations with us and do the room out. On the morning of Christmas day, there was a knock at the door from Lisa, the other owner and her children bringing all the guests a bar of chocolate and to wish us merry Christmas and they loved the decorations in the room. We had to go to reception on many occasions to ask questions and every time we went, both Lisa and Robert were very friendly and very helpful. They decided that they would let us stay in the larger room as they didn't want to unsettle us, we couldn't of been happier, they even made the joke it was "the party room".

I would recommend this motel to anyone staying in taupo. Its location is close to the lake front, bars, shops, and walking distance to most of them. Its very quiet and family friendly with own parking. Towels and sheets are changed daily if required and cleaners are lovely and friendly too. they have dvd's in reception that you can hire without any hassle and lots of knowledge of the area and what to do.

Thank you for such an awesome stay, we will definitely be back in the future and will be recommending to all our friends who visit the area too.

Room Tip: If you want a good room with lots of facilities, the spa studio room is very spacious and lots of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    35
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
40
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent location steps away from the lake. Should even be convenient for people without a car. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Massive spa bath in the room. Nice cooking utensils too.

The dryer at the laundry was very dirty and did not work properly. Luckily we were there on a sunny day so we could just air our washing on the clothing lines. Free internet available but very slow.

Recommended but I would like to try somewhere else before book again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We showed up after having a lovely stay in Napier and a 2 hour drive. The owner could only mutter the words,"sign the bottom. All you have to do is sign the bottom".
The beds feel like they are 30 years old, and the carpet is tired. We were able to use the BBQ which was good, and there are sufficient cooking utensils in the place. Only a 5 min walk to the lake.
It felt like the motor in basically cost 2x as much as it is worth, but it is the busy season so there is a supply vs demand price gouge you need to factor for.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

With slim pickings during the summer months for last minute bookings and needing somewhere to crash between auckland and Wellington, I found this place online. And I wish I stayed longer. Close to the town centre, but not on the crazy, speeding main road, but close to the lake too. Clean, set up well, everything you need, plus you can cook too, carpark right outside your door, huge (and I mean HUGE) hot tub/bath. I'm a fan.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed here for 1 night and found it to be very clean, spacious, affordable and fully equipped with everything you need, the bonus was the jacuzzi bathtub! The owners were extremely helpful and accommodating which makes all the difference when you are away from home. 5 stars.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meeka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Very helpful and friendly couple running the motel. Very clean and modern unit, luxurious bathroom. Good location, 1 minute walk to lake, 5 minute walk to town. BBQ facilities available to make use of the good weather and late sunset. One minus, pull out soda beds some of our group had to use were extremely uncomfortable, normal beds however were very comfortable

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Acapulco Motor Inn was a very good motel, modern, clean, comfortable, quiet, just a short walk to town, - we had a two bedroom unit, plenty of room, with on site parking, enjoyed our stay, will visit this motel again when next in Taupo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acapulco Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Motor Inn

Address: 19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acapulco Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Acapulco Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acapulco Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.