We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acapulco Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Acapulco Motor Inn to your Saves list
Acapulco Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Oundle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Run by a young couple, this Motor Inn was one of the most comfortable in which we stayed. The hosts were friendly and helpful and, because they were under-booked at the time, upgraded us at no extra charge. We had a spa bath, which was most welcome after a day's sight-seeing!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with a spa bath available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    41
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
55
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom with separate living area. The owners were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. After spending the night before in a so called 4 star hotel and being disappointed- the Acapulco was a very pleasant change. Neat and clean and spacious - our only regret is that we couldnt stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and and compared to other motels we have stayed in as part of the golden chain found this one average. A dated room and kitchen and not quite up to the standard we have experienced before in both presentation and cleanliness. However staff were helpful and only a five minutiae walk from town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the family room, with two rooms + separate lounge. It was very nicely presented. I appreciated the hot shower, the nice towels and the light switch in the room can be turned off from the bed. The self contained kitchen was useful and the free wifi. Very friendly staff topped our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were three people staying for a conference, and were very happy with all the facilities provided by the Acapulco. Kitchen was adequate, new bathroom a pleasure to use. Very handy to have laundry facilities. Owners very helpful and accommodating. Free wifi an absolute bonus.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great place for a few days away as a couple.

Our unit was immaculate, staff were friendly and helpful. Having our own personal whirl pool in our unit made it a great getaway for my husband and I.

Units were well appointed and modern.

Room Tip: We were in a room close to the road, we did not notice road noise or any other disturbances that aff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Acapulco Motor Inn for three nights in May, the owners were very friendly and helpful.
Our room had a reverse cycle air conditioner or "heat Pump" as they call it in New Zealand, this made our stay warm and cosy.
Beds were comfortable and we had great nights sleep.
The location was excellent with a very short stroll to Lake Taupo.
We were very close to shops and restaurants, and never very far when driving to the many attractions the region has to offer.
We enjoyed our stay in Taupo, and would have liked to stay much longer if time would allow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Acapulco Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Motor Inn

Address: 19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acapulco Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Acapulco Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acapulco Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.