We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position in Lake Taupo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acapulco Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Acapulco Motor Inn to your Saves list
Acapulco Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good position in Lake Taupo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This pleasant motel is located in a good area close to the main areas of Lake Taupo so it is easy to walk to the main shopping & dining areas of the town and to the Lake itself. Our room was spacious with a spa bath and outside seating. A good choice for a one night stay whilst touring around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
63
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The property is at a convenient location in a quiet neighbourhood yet near to Lake Taupo as well as eateries. Spacious room with well equipped kitchen facilities. You have a designated car park just outside your unit. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After a long day of driving it was great to find this motel. The room was very clean, neat and tidy and it had all that my wife and I needed for the one night stay. The host was very friendly and helpful. Everything in the room was spotless and the motel is only a few minutes drive away from the down train area. Because the motel is off the main road it was very quiet and we had a great night's sleep. Parking is tight, but adequate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked online based on a 4 star rating. I went in, stayed for about 30 minutes and then left. The room was old, 1980's decor, bedding was worn, microwave was very old - dial variety...to list a few points. I now know why there are no photos of the bathroom - it is very, very small with faded linoleum floor and old shower unit. I travel for business a lot and this was sub standard for price and I question its four star rating. It is worth mentioning that in 12 years I have never walked out of booked accomodation and this cost me.

On a positive, the host demonstrated very, very good customer service even when I handed the keys back, and the room was clean. I would have stayed if customer service was my primary need, but pleasant surroundings with a good bathroom are also important. Other units appeared a lot better but still not as good as other motels in the area. My suggestion - update the decor and bathroom in the studio unit.

Room Tip: Avoid the studio unit next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My Daughter and grand daughter stayed for 3 nights. We had a spa bath 2 bedroom unit with kitchen unit. The owners were very helpful and all the little extras made all the difference. Would definitely stay again. Thanks for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our family of 4 had a 2 night stay recently and were very pleased. It is not always easy to find a 2 bedroomed motel to accommodate older children. Nice sized rooms, comfortable beds, and a kitchenette well equipped. A nice selection of teas, coffee, hot chocolate, and even biscuits awaited our arrival. Also appreciated the selection of toiletries sitting in the bathroom.
As it was rather cold, the powerful wall heater was very effective.
Car park just out side room. So close to the Lake and shops.
Friendly and helpful owner. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very clean, perfect location, we loved it. The big whirlpool spa was just what we needed. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#6 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#15 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Catelli's of Taupo
Catelli's of Taupo
#19 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
0.1 mi away
Birchlands Motel
Birchlands Motel
#9 of 74 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Motor Inn

Address: 19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acapulco Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Acapulco Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acapulco Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.