We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acapulco Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Acapulco Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acapulco Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi available!!!
Ranked #23 of 71 hotels in Taupo
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The property is at a convenient location in a quiet neighbourhood yet near to Lake Taupo as well as eateries. Spacious room with well equipped kitchen facilities. You have a designated car park just outside your unit. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
25
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After a long day of driving it was great to find this motel. The room was very clean, neat and tidy and it had all that my wife and I needed for the one night stay. The host was very friendly and helpful. Everything in the room was spotless and the motel is only a few minutes drive away from the down train area. Because the motel is off the main road it was very quiet and we had a great night's sleep. Parking is tight, but adequate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked online based on a 4 star rating. I went in, stayed for about 30 minutes and then left. The room was old, 1980's decor, bedding was worn, microwave was very old - dial variety...to list a few points. I now know why there are no photos of the bathroom - it is very, very small with faded linoleum floor and old shower unit. I travel for business a lot and this was sub standard for price and I question its four star rating. It is worth mentioning that in 12 years I have never walked out of booked accomodation and this cost me.

On a positive, the host demonstrated very, very good customer service even when I handed the keys back, and the room was clean. I would have stayed if customer service was my primary need, but pleasant surroundings with a good bathroom are also important. Other units appeared a lot better but still not as good as other motels in the area. My suggestion - update the decor and bathroom in the studio unit.

Room Tip: Avoid the studio unit next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My Daughter and grand daughter stayed for 3 nights. We had a spa bath 2 bedroom unit with kitchen unit. The owners were very helpful and all the little extras made all the difference. Would definitely stay again. Thanks for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our family of 4 had a 2 night stay recently and were very pleased. It is not always easy to find a 2 bedroomed motel to accommodate older children. Nice sized rooms, comfortable beds, and a kitchenette well equipped. A nice selection of teas, coffee, hot chocolate, and even biscuits awaited our arrival. Also appreciated the selection of toiletries sitting in the bathroom.
As it was rather cold, the powerful wall heater was very effective.
Car park just out side room. So close to the Lake and shops.
Friendly and helpful owner. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very clean, perfect location, we loved it. The big whirlpool spa was just what we needed. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Arrived late at night and very tired to Taupo, having driven for about 4 hours almost non-stop and picked the first motel we saw which was obviously open. We were very pleased we did. We received a fantastic welcome at the Acapulco. The Manager appeared to also be the owner and while we completed our registration, he ran (yes, ran!) across to the room we would be staying in and turned the lights and heater on for us! Brilliant!! The room was quiet and extremely clean with a very neat and well supplied kitchen with plunger coffee, biscuits and hot chocolate as well as a really good range of teas. We couldn't find a can opener and one was supplied very quickly without any fuss. The motel cat also made us feel very welcome the next morning. All in all an extremely pleasant stay and very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room was on what I think was the northern side and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acapulco Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Motor Inn

Address: 19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 71 hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acapulco Motor Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Acapulco Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acapulco Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.