We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel for our stay in Taupo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sails

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sails to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sails
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Sails Taupo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Motel for our stay in Taupo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked this hotel on line from the UK and it was everything we expected. The apartment room was spotless and had a great view of the lake. The staff were very friendly and gave us great recommendations for eating out etc. Flawless stay would return anytime.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    36
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
52
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

While sails is on the further end of the main strip, it's still a very quick walk to the main set of shops and is set beautifully right on the waterfront of Lake Taupo. When first checking in I was very pleased by the friendliness of the staff. Free wifi is great. The room was spacious and very clean. The decor is really lovely and I appreciated the animal cruelty free bath products and biscuits/tea/coffee supplied. The heated towel rack and electric blanket were much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and I couldn't fault the place! Very comfortable room, clean, spacious and modern. Richard was extremely helpful too, making our transport booking for the tongariro crossing the next day (he even did a bit of shopping around for the best price on our behalf). It's about a 15 min walk into the centre but pleasant enough to do along the beach, even in strong wind! Would recommend this place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at Best Western Sails recently (Family of 4, 2 Adults 2 young children) for 3 nights to enjoy the Lake and other local attractions and scenery. We were greeted on check in by Richard who was warm and welcoming and more than willing to spend the time to answer all our questions on family friendly activities and restaurants and best of all offer his suggestions on what the kids might enjoy. We were more than happy with our room which was spacious and self contained which was brilliant for the kids. We had wonderful views of the lake right on our doorstep, and a great picnic area straight across the road at the waters edge. We called reception to ask for directions to the local supermarket, we spoke with Karen who offered directions over the phone and suggested when we were leaving to pop in to the office and collect a map of the local area and she could show us the route to the supermarket.

Our stay while brief was made more enjoyable by the happy, friendly and attentive staff who seemed determined to ensure we enjoyed our stay and that the kids were comfortable (to the extent they lent us a few DVD's for the kids). Karen and Richard and their team are a credit to the Best Western brand, and we look forward to our next stay in Taupo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capalaba, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My partner was taking a shower at approximately 1.20am on Friday 24 November for approximately 5-10 minutes and she was finding that the water would not drain from the shower.

I found on inspection that the Water was spurting out of the drain next to the shower and it had flooded the bathroom and was running out of the unit. Management told me that it significantly damaged the unit underneath us.

When we brought it to his attention - he called us a complete liar as the water had drained by that stage. At that stage we asked him to run the shower for 5 mins as it didn't occur when taking shorter showers. He refused to do so. He also threatened to evict us and call the police if we didn't accept responsibility.

At 8.15 am this morning we met with Richard Murphy again. We sent an email as we were able to speak to lawyer back in Australia and she told us not to claim responsibility as the fault was not caused by us. At this stage he blocked our vehicle in the car park (which we have been advised by our lawyers as being illegal). We insisted we get a second opinion from a plumber (which he refused to do), we also asked him to run the shower which he eventually did, and sure enough, 5 minutes later, it flooded. He apologized, but the damage had already been done.

This has caused significant mental anxiety for both by fiancée and I, as we both could not sleep due to extreme worry. We have also been forced to cancel our Sunday 26 January 2014 due to this extreme behaviour.

We are asking for some compensation as this matter has been the worst experience we have ever had. We would also request that action be taken against Richard Murphy for his bad service in this matter. This may warrant a stripping of the Quality Best Western Brand from his establishment.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sails, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Michael C,
I would like to respond to your review, which does not contain the full facts. As a result of a shower you were having at around 1am after your night of celebration a flood ensued with water coming over the carpet and through the door and down to the room below. As I attempted to mop up I told you that we would talk about this in the morning, despite your somewhat belligerent and inebriated attitude. I feel that you contacting a lawyer in the middle of the night to be something of an over-reaction. In the cold light of day (and with the help of a plumber) we found a blockage which, if a shower lasted for more than 10 minutes, would create an overflow. I immediately offered you a complimentary night for your return stay on Sunday 26; a gesture you refused to take up. Subsequently we have refunded the cost of your stay on the night of the flood as we never want to have a dissatisfied guest.
We have never, in our 3 years running this business, encountered such an event and your attitude on the night and in this unfair review has upset us considerably. Suffice to say the incident has cost us a lot of money. However, as the vast majority of our valued guests are courteous and impeccably behaved we will not let this incident dampen our enthusiasm.
Richard & Karen Murphy
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The best motel we've stayed in at Taupo, and we've stayed in a few! Lake views from our balcony in the back block (the foreshore was blocked by the roof in front but we saw the lake and central plateau). Pleasant welcome, good car parking, very comfortable bed, great facilities, very quick wifi. Easy access to the walk along the lake too. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view. The back block, where we stayed, may be a little quieter than the front block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This place had everything I could have wished for, we were lucky to have been upgraded to a 2 bed room unit wish had everything, it was just fantastic and the service at checkin was the easiest I have ever experienced. Thanks Sails I highly recommend you..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sails

Address: 138 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Sails Taupo)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#22 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sails 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sails Taupo Hotel Taupo
Taupo Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.