We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sails

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sails to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sails
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Sails Taupo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent one night at he Quality Inn Sails on the lake front at Taupo a couple of weeks ago - en route to the Hawkes Bay. It was a very pleasant, comfortable stay. All the facilities one might want for an overnight stay were available and we were greeted and accommodated very pleasantly by the hosts. We were, we think, fortunate to be in one of the back units, because Lake Terrace - despite the opening of the Taupo bypass - remains an extremely busy and noisy road. The motel is very close to town: a pleasant 10-15 minute walk on the flat and we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay there. Excellent: well done - please keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Best not to be right at the front ... ! But the traffic eases off by 9pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    36
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
52
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in a studio spa unit. The unit was very spacious with a sitting area, well stocked kitchenette, large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and a balcony. The interior is dated, but has been immaculately maintained and was very clean. The wifi is free and very fast. The only downside to the unit was lack of air conditioning but you can open the balcony door to get a nice breeze.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed 9 days. First time at this motel even tho we have stayed in Taupo many times. Our hosts made us welcome. We had adjoining units at the rear elevated part of the complex as another adult family member joined us. The lake view was almost perfect except for lamppost on the street!
Tidy units with standard studio supplies and almost soundproof, but as we in top units dont know about people below. Under floor heating, but no air conditioning unfortunately so very hot at night for sleeping. The hosts provided a fan....lovely! Parking is tight in some spaces.
Overall everyone most obliging and friendly. Distance from the town was a nice walking distance, or car if wet. No swimming pool or playing area, but this was not a downer for us! Thanks to our hosts Karen and Richard.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back units. There are two apartment units and they look to be the answer for family a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great stay whilst on business in Taupo. The managers left the unit all ready for my arrival as it was late in the evening. Nice warm under floor bathroom tiles. Very quiet as the bedroom was back from the road. Beautiful lake views.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Karen was a friendly host that looked after our every need beyond the ordinary motel. They even found some toys and activities for our little boy. The lake view room was awesome. The position on the lake is fantastic. It is probably a 20min walk to town, but the distance does make it quieter and is no problem with a car.

Karen and Richard deserve to be praised for the operation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here overnight on our way from Wellington to Rototura. The folks were friendly and helpful at reception and check in was quick. I liked being not quite so close to the centre of town - things were a little quieter. The view of the lake was awesome - to wake up and see Lake Taupo spreading out before me was marvellous. We had a room at the front of the property and it's a bit noisy with traffic noise - I'd stay here again, but make sure that I had a room further back, but that still had a view.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear - the rooms at the front have great views, but they're noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikato
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed here again for a short Winter break! This is the fourth or fifth time we have stayed at this motel and every time we really enjoy our stay here! The rooms are immaculate and the views are great of the lake! The decor is stylish and the owners are very pleasant! We would really like to stay here again! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sails

Address: 138 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Sails Taupo)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#25 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sails 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sails Taupo Hotel Taupo
Taupo Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.