We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sails

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sails to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sails
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Sails Taupo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed for a few nights, even though we prepaid for specific dates the owner was totally unfussed and really accommodating with our day early arrival when our plans had to change. Great proximity to town, nice view and a stones throw from the lake where we enjoyed evening walks. Clean, roomy and everything you need!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    34
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
46
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waipukurau
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked using our fly buys. We have stayed in Taupo lots and at many different places but I would certainly recommend the Sails. Very clean and lots of space. Added extras like biscuits and magazines. Lovely and warm. Close to town. Could even walk.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook lake but we were happy to be away from the main road as it was lovely and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This has to be one of the best places I've ever stayed! Very friendly management, superior quality room, spotlessly clean, nice and quiet, everything you need and really warm. Plenty of tea and coffee, kitchen very well stocked with cutlery, free wi-fi even. Very easy to find, great parking (and we had a trailer). We seriously considered staying another night and pulling a sickie at work for it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed for three nights in early May, and were impressed from the start by the helpful welcome. First impressions do count and we were again impressed by the cleanliness and preparation of the studio unit, which had its own spa bath. The little touches like providing plenty of tea, coffee, sugar and biscuits in the kitchen, and plenty of towels, mats, flannels, shampoo, in the bathroom was better than we have seen in some more 'luxurious' hotels. The view over the lake had us sitting on the balcony, to watch the sun go down. We have no hesitation in recommending Sails to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great place to stay, very friendly welcome which was nice after a long drive. Views were great, we saw a beautiful sunset from our balcony. Kitchen facilities were good and there was a good amount of space in the room. Free wifi was a bonus. The motel is on the edge of town but it is located on the main road so it is easy to find. I would definitely go back and recommend it to others, it was excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Recently stayed at Sails and overall was impressed. We stayed in the Deluxe Studio spa room which was upstairs and towards the back of the hotel. It appeared exactly as pictured on the website with great views of the lake and mountains from the balcony. The room and kitchen facilities were great and the spa was quite spacious, which was handy as my partner is very tall!

The hotel is within walking distance of the main part of town, however if you’re not looking to have a drink it may be better to drive in. The hotel is also located in front of one of the hot beaches, heated by thermal springs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great place in Taupo would highly recommend, the large apartment with two floors was great we had a barbeque overlooking the lake.. Highly recommend...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sails

Address: 138 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Sails Taupo)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Taupo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sails 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sails Taupo Hotel Taupo
Taupo Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.