We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taupo treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baycrest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baycrest Lodge to your Saves list
Baycrest Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Mere Rd, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Taupo treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed there for three nights and had lovely roomy accommodation, with nice views from balcony, very clean and comfortable. . It has a lovely thermally heated pool just lovely to relax in with a bbq for your own use. A pleasant walk away from town, would stay there again no worries..

Room Tip: I would ask for an upstairs room as they have nice balconies and nice spa baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    37
    18
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
99
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on the way to the Bays. Simon was a nice guy and very helpful.
Would stay there again as the private thermal pool was the main attraction for us. The gardens around the pool could have done with a little weeding but that certainly wouldn't put us off staying again. No air conditioning which we feel could be a problem in the summer months.

Room Tip: The bottom units only have the private thermal pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Was an ok motel, not really what I expected for the price after looking at the photos...I guess internet can be a bad way to view somethings. Would stay there again if it was on special or if the price dropped, pools were cool, but spa pool would be a better idea. These take a long time to fill and go cold very quickly

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaycrestLodge, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for staying at Baycrest and thank you for rating us highly for service and cleanliness. Our thermal tubs are usually a great drawcard. Our first floor king studios have great spa baths which might be good if you decide to stay with us again, these also have great Lake Taupo views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great accommodation within easy reach of everything that Taupo has to offer. Location, facilities and staff everything that travellers would need to enjoy your time in one of the best spots in New Zealand. Private outdoor thermal pool within the confines of the room an added plus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaycrestLodge, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks John. We are really glad you enjoyed your time here at Baycrest Lodge. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again if travelling to Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, NZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights over the school holidays in a 2 bedroom room - kids had separate room, but we slept in bed in lounge area. Very nice and clean, spacious with good partial views of the lake. If staying in Taupo again, we would definitely try and stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaycrestLodge, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The school holidays are always a busy time however staying in one of our Family Executive rooms gives you a bit more room and space when travelling with everyone. You made a good choice having the upstairs rooms with spa baths and views. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

All we wanted for our break away was a great view & space to relax, and Baycrest was perfect. Spacious room, with a couch plus table & chairs made it comfy for a stay of several days, and the extra table & chairs on private balcony meant we could make the most of the fantastic sunsets. Although about 1.5kms from town centre it was an easy walk along the lakefront. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone, and we will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a fantastic long weekend in Taupo, made so much more enjoyable by our choice in Baycrest. Our downstairs room had a great view of the lake and we made very good use of the thermal spa, sitting out there for 2 or so hours on one occasion, protected from the rain and very warm! The weather wasn't great, so the fact that the room is so large was very appreciated. Lovely bathroom, shower and complimentary toiletries as well. Hardly heard a peep from anyone else there at the time, which made it feel very secluded and private. A quick drive to some neat local cafes and each time we came back, our room had been nicely tidied for us - really appreciated not being woken up in the morning to cleaners! All in all I would highly recommend Baycrest Lodge and can't wait to return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baycrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baycrest Lodge

Address: 79 Mere Rd, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#21 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baycrest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the latest in quality service and surroundings, where traditional elegance blends with a restful ambiance. Baycrest Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus is 100m from the main swimming beach of Great Lake Taupo. All 16 units are spacious and elegantly appointed and have tasteful European bathrooms and fully self contained kitchen facilities, including fridges, ceramic hotplates and microwaves. Ground floor suites have individual hot thermal tubs, up to 50'C, 2 of which are full disability access units. First floor suites have large champagne spa baths, balconies and superb Great Lake Taupo views. Super King beds are available in all the studio suites. The 2 room family suites can have either singles or a super king bed as well as the queen bed in the lounge area. Some suites interconnect to make more sleeping configurations. Baycrest Lodge also has a stunning swimming pool thermally heated to between 30'C and 35'C all year round. There is a guest lounge/bar area and a guest laundry on site. Baycrest Lodge is close to a number of restaurants and is about 1 kilometre (flat and easy 15-20 minute walk) from the town centre. It is also in a perfect position to watch many of the major events such as the NZ Ironman. All the suites offer free WiFi (limits apply), Sky's all new 'Guest Select' meaning 50+ channels in every room, 32" LCD TVs with inbuilt DVD player and I-Pod docking. Baycrest Lodge is the ideal place for the discerning traveller, anyone away on business or those just wanting to get away and relax for a time. We look forward to welcoming you to Baycrest Lodge and Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Baycrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Baycrest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baycrest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.