We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Taupo Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baycrest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Baycrest Lodge to your Saves list
Baycrest Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Mere Rd, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Taupo Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had an upstairs room which was great. Views over the lake, the evenings with the sunsets were superb. We only had a couple of nights here. Nice big room, well appointed even with an i-pod docking station and good plunger coffee. Really warm with the thermal heated floors. we arrived a bit late but still had a warm greeting. We were truley made to feel welcome throughout our whole stay, nothing seemed too much trouble. Oh and some free internet as well. Outdoor heated pool and a nice guest bar area. This was a really nice place to stay, Certainely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    34
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
92
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Highly recommend this motel. Immaculately clean. Great service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We thought the Baycrest was a great place to stay with a family. Plenty of space, well appointed rooms. We had a ground floor room with a thermal tub, which we used a lot, and the kids loved the heated outdoor pool too.
Nice and close to everything.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

What more can you ask for in Taupo. Great rooms, plenty of room and a most friendly host. Well situated with quick access into town or the Lake. Nice and warm with underfloor heating for Winter
There are a multitude of rooms on sale in Taupo, but you will not go wrong staying here. The hot outdoor plunge pool makes a nice family focal point as well. No restaurant although breakfast can be served in your room.
There is a Free Internet if you ask for it, a limited download cap, but enough to do what you want.

Room Tip: The Upstairs rooms have a nice Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

A very relaxing stay with very comfortable rooms. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The motel is situated on the edge of town (not far from the airport) and was very quiet, however, still only few metres from the lake. The in-room thermal heating was great!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We had the 1-bedroom downstairs with the thermal tub, and it's a very well equipped and nice place to stay. The owner is also very friendly. The only downsides are that it can get noisy when the people upstairs move around, and that exhaust (if any) isn't adequate so cooking will make the room a little smoky, but apart from that, we were very happy with the stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in a spacious second floor room. The view was beautiful, especially the sunsets, and we would have used the balcony more if the weather had been better. It had good wifi and TV. The trip into town for restaurants, groceries and activities is walkable, but it was a bit far (20-30 minutes) and we usually ended up driving. If you do a jet boat trip we recommend RapidJet. Our favourite meal was at the Turkish restaurant on Tongariro St, across from the tourist information centre. The Taupo Museum was very worthwhile. We also golfed 9 holes at the Bayview Wairakei Resort, fun and a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baycrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baycrest Lodge

Address: 79 Mere Rd, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#23 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baycrest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the latest in quality service and surroundings, where traditional elegance blends with a restful ambiance. Baycrest Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus is 100m from the main swimming beach of Great Lake Taupo. All 16 units are spacious and elegantly appointed and have tasteful European bathrooms and fully self contained kitchen facilities, including fridges, ceramic hotplates and microwaves. Ground floor suites have individual hot thermal tubs, up to 50'C, 2 of which are full disability access units. First floor suites have large champagne spa baths, balconies and superb Great Lake Taupo views. Super King beds are available in all the studio suites. The 2 room family suites can have either singles or a super king bed as well as the queen bed in the lounge area. Some suites interconnect to make more sleeping configurations. Baycrest Lodge also has a stunning swimming pool thermally heated to between 30'C and 35'C all year round. There is a guest lounge/bar area and a guest laundry on site. Baycrest Lodge is close to a number of restaurants and is about 1 kilometre (flat and easy 15-20 minute walk) from the town centre. It is also in a perfect position to watch many of the major events such as the NZ Ironman. All the suites offer free WiFi (limits apply), Sky's all new 'Guest Select' meaning 50+ channels in every room, 32" LCD TVs with inbuilt DVD player and I-Pod docking. Baycrest Lodge is the ideal place for the discerning traveller, anyone away on business or those just wanting to get away and relax for a time. We look forward to welcoming you to Baycrest Lodge and Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baycrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Baycrest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baycrest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.