We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine Eatery

The Vine Eatery
37 Tuwharetoa Street | Taupo Central, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
+64 7-378 5704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 89 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We have designed an abundant menu of fresh, seasonal, delicious plates to share with friends, family or colleagues. Our bar and wine list offers over 150 wines hand-picked for you to enjoy. We have a great selection of craft beers too. Join us for lunch, an afternoon platter, tapas, dinner or drop in for a drink. What are shared plates? They are unpretentious bites of robust and intense flavoured entre sized dishes. They are ideal for diners who are curious about flavour, adventurous about taste, and who want to vary their dining experience as much as possible in one sitting. Shared plates are a relaxed style of entertaining and dining. Each dish will be presented as it is cooked not at the same time as a traditional menu. We also have an a la carte menu if you prefer.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A beautiful selection of food and wine. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire evening, great prices, great service and beautiful food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    71
    29
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
“Good service, delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Went to the new 'Vine Eatery' at Scenic Cellars for lunch today, was so good we had to bring the family back for dinner. We weren't to sure about the sharing plates concept but have now decided it is one of the best ways to eat! Huge variety and great service. The chef even came out after our meal - a lovely brazilian man! Vine Eatery is a must if you are heading to taupo or passing through!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with superb wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We visited the Vine Eatery in Taupo a couple of days ago. We've walked past it on a number of trips to Taupo but never had the time for a bite to eat. What an absolute delight when we finally did make the time for a lon drawn out lunch!

The restaurant offers tasting plates which are similar to Tapas, but larger portions. Slightly expensive, but the age old phrase of "you get what you pay for" is particularly relevant. The wine though is very good value for money and the off the beaten track wines are delighful! The plates are perfect for ordering a couple for the table and doing wine matches accordingly.

We opted for 3 plates between 2 of us which was plenty (although the menu does state that they recommend 2 per person).

We had the Pork Fillet with Grain Mustard and Calvados, Duck Breast with leek and almond risotto and orange aioli and Morrocan spiced lamb rump with tzatziki. All 3 dishes were magnficent with the Chard Farm Pinot Gris and the Fix Chardonnay.

The service was good and the staff were friendly and knwoledgable on both meals and wine.

We will most definitely be back for dinner!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Awesome wine selection! Food was yum!! Service was great!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Scenic Cellars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

It was quite nice inside and had an interesting feel

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vine Eatery also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to The Vine Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.