We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail Fearless

Sail Fearless
Berth #31 Taupo Marina | Ferry Rd Taupo, Taupo 3351, New Zealand
+64 22 189 1847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 57 Activities in Taupo
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come on board "Sail Fearless" For the Purest sailing experience on Lake Taupo, This is the more intimate cruise option to the famous Maori Rock carvings, with sleek lines and a maximum of only 14 passengers on Fearless.You have room to sit back and relax or get involved in hoisting the sails and manning the helm as you take in some of the most breathtaking views of Taupo. The trip includes a swimming stop in summer or winter if your brave, and be sure to bring your camera to capture some of the most breathtaking views around. Come and join me on Fearless for a trip to remember.
Senlis
1 review
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

One of the highlights of our NZ trip.

The crew was great and very funny.

They did everything to make everybody feel comfortable and the trip was really enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Highlight of Taupo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Dave (owner/captain) is the best. His crew is awesome and friendly and accommodating. Took a trip November 2012 and still have only fond memories of it :) Wish I was back in NZ, this was one of the best experiences of my trip (and it rivals Tongariro Crossing the day before it erupted) even went on a sunset tour afterwards, which was amazing.
Best wishes to Dave and his crew, miss you!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best value for money, amazing adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our sail on Fearless was one of the highlights of our NZ trip: the winds were high and our spirits were up, it was a wild and wonderful few hours with David at the helm!
We learnt a lot about the lake, the rock carvings, sailing and the general area and we had a fantastic time. We got a bit wet from the wild waves, but we didn't care one bit!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If you only have time to do one attraction in Taupo, make sure it's a trip on "fearless"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Took my 11 year old son on an afternoon cruise today, was amazing, Dave the skipper went out of his way to make us feel welcome, he taught my boy so much about sailing and let him take the helm! This is a must do trip when in Taupo

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time on fearless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a great time on fearless. Bill the captain was very passionate, informative and friendly. We had great sailing weather and were lucky enough to have the whole sail boat to ourselves (10:30am departure). Neither of us had been sailing before and this was a great introduction. Bill was clearly very knowledgeable and made the entire sailing experience very enjoyable. We felt sorry for the other tourists that took one of the other engine-powered boats. Dress warmly it can get a bit chilly out there! The trip takes about 2 hours. Well worth the $35. We would definately do it again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Fearless also viewed

 
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Sail Fearless? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sail Fearless, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.