We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanstatic cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail Barbary

Sail Barbary
Berth 10, Redoubt Street | Taupo Boat Harbour, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
+64 7-378 5879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 42 activities in Taupo
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Are you the type of person who loves an adventure? thrives on relaxing and taking in breath-taking scenery? Do you want the best experiences with shared laughs and perhaps even a touch of Kiwi Culture? Then we believe you will LOVE the Barbary on Lake Taupo.Whether you’re after a romantic cruise, family adventure, a chilled-out day on the lake or a mates’ night out – the beautifully restored 1920s yacht Barbary, has it covered. The Barbary crew has outfitted New Zealand's only commercially operated electric yacht with luxury bean bags for cosy seating, licensed bar or B.Y.O, surround sound entertainment system and warm ponchos for those adventure-filled days when the wind is up. Marvel at the Maori Rock Carvings as you lounge on deck or take a dip in the lake and swim right up close to this must-see attraction! Located on a stone cliff face over the crystalline waters of Mine Bay, the carvings are only accessible by boat. Resembling the remains of ancient Maori civilization, they were created in the late 70s by a group of artists led by artist John Randall and reach a height of over 10 metres! Back on board, you can give your friendly Captain a hand hoisting the sails or take a turn on the wheel and there are plenty of amazing photo opportunities.Barbary also provides BBQ and Movie Cruises and is available for Private charter.A sail cruise with Barbary can be whatever you want it to be. The one thing everyone on board has in common is that they’re all having the time of their lives.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fanstatic cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We found the cruise well worth the money and extremely relaxing. Jamie is a great guide and very friendly,he told us where to go for the best fish and chips but unfortunately it was shut not to worry. The lake is very impressive with great views of the mountains,when we went the weather wasn't the best,( it was freezing) but we still really enjoyed ourselves. The Barbary is a lovely boat and we would highly recommend this cruise to anyone visiting Lake Taupo.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Yes it was a cool day but so glad to hear you still enjoyed the trip. Sorry to hear the fish and chip shop was closed I will get their timetable so i don't get it wrong again. Thank you for your review.

Regards jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    17
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of Taupo stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently joined this tour with my husband and it was fantastic! Highly recommended.
Jamie is a great guide, he looked after us very well and even gave us some tips on where to get the best fish and chips in Taupo. (If you want to know, ask him!) Would love to come back in summer.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good fish and chip shops are hard to find but so enjoyable when you do, Thank you for your review and i look forward to seeing you again in the summer.
Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I went on the Sail Barbary for a short cruise around Lake Taupo. It was a fantastic experience and well worth the money we spent. There is something really special about being able to cruise on the lake without the sound of a noisy engine. We were really lucky the day we went as the wind was up, and we were able to sail to and from the harbour to view the Maori Carvings. Jamie, our host, was amazing, funny and full of stories from his time working on super yachts over seas as well as the history of the Barbary sailing vessel. We will definitely be doing this again.

Tip: A summer cruise would be fantastic with a small group of up to around 20, and he also has a BBQ on the boat which would be highly recommended. You can bring your own alcohol on board or purchase the on board selection.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Wow what a review, all i can say to that is thank you so much and please come again.
Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing and memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The forecast was for rain but, after a foggy morning, the day turned out to be sunny and clear. Great trip - interesting stories and lots of time to just relax and enjoy the views. The electric motor meant for quiet sailing even when the wind wasn't blowing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Guys
Thank you for your review. The lake has so much to offer and is a fantastic place to relax and enjoy mother nature at her best. We hope to see you again
Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“relaxing brilliance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Jamie is an outstanding skipper full of knowledge and humour. The boat is in stunning condition and the silence of no combustion engine all the more delightful. Beautiful views of the lake, shoreline and of course the rock carvings, paired with warm hospitality made for a well needed afternoon break.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Wow, I should have you on the pay roll saying nice things like that. Thank you for the kind words. I am glad you had a great time, I do enjoy my job and i guess that shows. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Barbary also viewed

 
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Sail Barbary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sail Barbary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sail Barbary to your Saves list