We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing memorable, but good enough for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   41 Centennial Drive, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nothing memorable, but good enough for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in our own van on a tent site and only stayed one night. Nothing stuck out as memorable about our stay other than perhaps the awesome warm outdoor swimming pool with good-sized changing rooms. The toilet and shower area was clean and had plenty of room. Didn't go to reception so can't comment (our friends paid for and booked us in).

The location is out of the way for walkers, but great for those with transport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for your review. The pool is always appreciated by our guests especially since it's so warm and completely free to use! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    38
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
57
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed Fri and Sat night in Wimbledon cottage with our grandchildren. We appreciated the luxury of the cottage, and they appreciated the jumping pillow and the park. We all loved the hot pools. Everything was lovely and clean and tidy, in our cottage and in the grounds all around us. Our bed was like sleeping on a big marshmallow - we loved it! The shower was lovely and the heater kept us lovely and cosy at night. The kitchen cupboards provided everything we needed. We had such a great time and will certainly be back. Thank you!

Room Tip: If you can afford Wimbeldon Cottage, it's well worth it as it realy is 5 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for the review Trish, very pleased you enjoyed you stay and the new Super-King bed we've added to our Wimbledon Cottage really is great, look out for a few more improvements coming soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My son and I enjoyed a night at Taupo Top 10 Holiday Park, the room was clean modern and comfortable. We really enjoyed sitting in the hot pool and the jumping pillow. I would stay again if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for the review Bill, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After spending three nights at various van parks across the north island of New Zealand and receiving lovely, friendly warm service, it was a surprise to be treated so rudely and coldly by Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort.

It started with the greeting at front desk when we arrived which was far from welcoming, not a hint of a smile was offered. And it ended when I visited reception to hire a blanket/doona as our camper van company forgot to pack enough. We were only travelling for a week and had managed to purchase one cheap one.

The employee at front desk asked if I wanted single or double, I replied double, he vanished for a good five minutes then returned saying the owner had said no. Which surprised me as the three previous van parks at Miranda, Thames and Rotarua were totally fine about it, two of them gave me a few blankets to borrow at no charge. I explained I had two small children 6 & 9 and it was freezing and I was happy to pay to hire one. It was then that a second employee appeared with a brand new doona in it's pack and said I could purchase this one for $50. When I replied with an amazed no and expressed my disappointment, the owner Lloyd Lusty appeared and informed me in a very angry tone that he had no donnas at all to let me use. None!

In my opinion I had made a simple request that had been fulfilled on 3 previous occasions, pretty poor service from Lloyd and his crew, I'd never say here again and I recommend you drive on by too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Owner at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry we could not provide your campervan with bedding as all our bedding has been put into our accommodation units. Our staff member that dealt with you did not realise that our old linen/bedding had been sold at the local market recently. This is the bedding we would normally hire but since we provide it in our accommodation units we no longer needed to keep stock. You were offered a new duvet (still in the packet) at cost price to us which you refused. I'm sure if you had told the campervan company how many people you had in your campervan they would have provided the correct amount of bedding for you and your family. Holiday Parks do not normally hire/loan linen/bedding to campervans as it is supplied by the campervan company for the amount of people in their campervans, which is all part of their charge. We are sorry you thought Lloyd was angry, he does have a very loud deep voice and we can assure you he was not angry. We hope you and your family enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Taupo Top 10 campsite for 2 nights. We had a motorhome with 2 adults and 2 children. The site was spacious and concreted. The site is at the back of Taupo, but still easy access to all activities in the area. A very spacious campsite with wonderful mountain views. The children loved the go karts you could hire, and the jumping pillow was the largest on the island! Good children’s play facilities and even had a large outside chess set! The environment was very spacious and very safe for families. Excellent outside hot pools to relax in, at the end of the day. A good TV lounge. The best reception out of all the top tens we visited, with helpful and friendly staff. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks Lorraine, we hope you enjoyed all of your trip as much as your time in Taupo and maybe we'll see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Great staff, great facilities, great park and great value. Can't go wrong. Location is a little outside the town but still close enough to attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Many thanks for the review, it's always good to know when our guests have enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We have stayed at this TOP 10 Resort with our grandchildren, renting a resort accommodation unit (the Resort also offers tent and RV camping). Cleanliness, security, heated swimming pools and playgrounds were top quality. The Resort is located only five minutes from supermarkets, restaurants and Lake Taupo with its many exciting activities. Reception staff were very helpful and responded happily to the many questions of this foreigner from Europe... Highly recommended for family with children of all ages. Lots to do in the area.

Room Tip: All of the suites are good value. Camping positions are good also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for the review, we hope you enjoyed your travels and that we see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort

Address: 41 Centennial Drive, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.