We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for all types of people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bradshaw's Travel Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bradshaw's Travel Lodge to your Saves list
Bradshaw's Travel Lodge
130 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Thames, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay for all types of people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights, prices were very reasonable, Staff were really friendly and helpful, place was very clean with a relaxed atmosphere and and good facilities for cooking or just kicking back with a book or watching the t.v, i would recommend this place to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

A perfect place to relax with great access to all the things Taupo has to offer.
Owner is very helpful and has worked hard to create a really welcoming and friendly atmosphere.

Free breakfast of cereal and fruit is a nice added bonus too.
Kitchen is clean and very well stocked and equipped.

I'd thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Bradshaw's Travel Lodge in Taupo last weekend. This retro feel like lodge was nice and clean as well as very close to the city centre and the lake (approx. 5 mins walk).

The breakfast was complimentary (cereals and some fresh coffee) and the kitchen/breakfast room area had also nice view of the lake.

Although the rooms are very simple and small, they are certainly clean and comfortable. We think that this place is a great budget accommodation with a free breakfast and a nice atmosphere. The manager was very helpful and even put a log fire in a cosy lounge for us. That was sooo lovely :). We will be definitely back! Thank you Morganne.

Room Tip: look for an accommodation not to central (5-10 mins walking distance places are the best). Central h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

All wellknown places being full, we found this little backpackers lodge just outside the center. The canadian lady receptionist could not be anymore helpful and chirpy. The double room with en-suite was extremely clean, but very dated. A small free breakfast was served, unusual for backpackers lodges, but charming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

When I first arrived at this place it reminded me of the old style guest houses I used to stay in as a child. It seemed to be purpose built as an accommodation, not just a converted house like many hostels. It had a feeling of a cross between a hostel and a guest house.

As previous reviewers said, it still has that 60s-70s decor, but has a cosy atmosphere.

I just stayed one night, and my room was a family room - with double bed, separate room with double bunks; ensuite bathroom and also a handbasin in the main bedroom. Would be great for a family of four. Everything was clean; linen and towels provided. Shower recess could be updated - but okay for just one night (but I also noticed little mould on the bathroom curtains).

Quite a few common areas - TV lounge, dining room (also with lounge and TV area), front balcony and middle courtyard. Breakfast was choice of two cereals, apples and coffee/tea - left for self service. Big kitchen so you can cook your own meals.

This place is listed on Book a Bach, so you can rent the whole place out - would be good for large groups and families. Walking distance to main shopping area, bus station but also a local supermarket/green grocer and butcher only 5 mins walk away. Walking distance to lake (view of the lake from front balcony).
Nothing fancy about this place, but good location, and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We didn't get off to a great start as they didn't have our booking but the guy on reception assured us it was ok as the hostel was empty apart from 1 other guest. Apparently the team we met had just taken over as the previous manager had left suddenly, we never found out what happened but they were doing a great job. The place was spotless. It helped that we had the whole hostel to ourselves and used the kitchen and lounge in peace. It is a bit like time stood still in the 70s in terms of the furniture and decor but our room was largd with an en suite, everything worked and was well stocked. Reception offered hair dryers, adapters and extra blankets and pillows if you needed them. There was also plenty of tour and local information available. We missed out on the free breakfast as we left too early but I'm sure it was good if the rest of the hostel was anything to go by.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

So it's not the Four Seasons Hotel, but it's a quiet place to rest yourself during your travels. Complimentary continental breakfast, although I think they only brew the coffee once, so best to make your own fresh as I did. Breakfast consists of some plain cereal and fruit, which we happy with. Kitchen available for use but not necessarily the cleanest; the guy in charge of cleaning was a young 20 year old from Scotland whom I suspect his mom cleaned for him, haha. A bit out of town center by walk, but close enough. Near the lake, and the frontdesk guy showed us a place where you could visit natural hotsprings that we didn't know about, just ask and he'll show ya. Kinda feels like you're back in the 70's when you stay there, but for the price, I'm not complaining about the "Brady Bunch" decor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bradshaw's Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bradshaw's Travel Lodge

Address: 130 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bradshaw's Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bradshaw's Travel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.