We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch outstanding B&B in style and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rive Gauche B&B Taupo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rive Gauche B&B Taupo to your Saves list
Rive Gauche B&B Taupo
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   128 Ferndale Way | RD 4, Taupo 3384, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Taupo B&B and Inns
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top-notch outstanding B&B in style and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family stayed two nights at Rive Gauche in Taupo over the new year. Upon arriving we saw this impeccably manicured garden decorated with splendid taste, we nearly couldn't believe this could be the right address - but it was!

We had two rooms, extremely spacious, impeccably furnished and equipped, each with its own splendid little bathroom, with a view over their little vineyard. The beds were the absolute best we've had while traveling bar none!

Clearly Lynne and Jim have gone strides out of their way to build an absolutely top-notch accommodation that most five star hotels would envy. Add to this the superb and warm hospitality of our Kiwi hosts, their kind tailored advice and sumptuous breakfasts, and this begins to feel like a little paradise you'll be very reluctant to leave behind!

The B&B is located within walking distance of Huka Falls through the Redwood forest, a must-see in the area. Following Lynne's advice, we also visited the Craters of the Moon, a nearby volcanic site with craters, mud pools, steaming fumaroles; and DeBrett's pool and spa; both of which were instant top scorers with our 6 and 10 year old children.

We'll have to return someday to taste their Pinot Gris once the vines start to yield! This address is clearly a keeper.

Many thanks Lynne and Jim for your kind hospitality, it was a major highlight of our trip. Even if the Taupo fireworks fizzled this year :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Taupo, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at New Year. We really enjoyed hosting you, and even if Taupo's fireworks display encountered a technical problem which meant a late start, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay too. At Rive Gauche we have created a special outdoor environment on our 1 hectare section, comprised of landscaped gardens and vineyard with 900 vines. Although we don't have a lake view, our property overlooks the Waikato river valley, on the edge of the Wairakei park, with easy access to walking and mountain bike trails. We are only 3-4 minutes (2 km) drive from the town centre, closer than many urban properties. We consider our tariffs to be reasonable considering the standard of the accommodation, the personal attention guests receive when staying with us and the time and energy we put into maintaining our property. Many guests choose to stay with us because of our peaceful location and because of the warm welcome they receive. French and some German also spoken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California, United States
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

lynne and jim had gone to the lookout to watch mt tongariro steam away and we nearly missed them. but they were back and all full of news of the volcano and the prospects for our hikes when we arrived at their beautiful, purpose-built b&b. over tea we caught up on the doings with the volcanoes (mt ruapehu was due to blow any time) and learned about their vineyard. we loved our apartment. it was spacious and had great views across the vineyard on to the river. everything was in perfect condition and immaculately clean. our little kitchen had all sorts of useful equipment (most of which we never touched), but it was nice to know they had anticipated all sorts of wine/cheese/bbq/snacks possibilities. breakfasts were all you could hope for, including the good company of our hosts. on our final morning we had pancakes and sat around the table for ages having just one more and one more and talking like old friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Taupo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you took time over breakfast each day for a leisurely chat. As keen travellers ourselves we enjoy the opportunity to converse with guests and share local knowledge, advise of any current happenings and suggest things to see and do relative to the time available.
You chose the bed and breakfast option although the studio gives guests the flexbility to choose an independent (self-catering) option, B&B, or a combination of the two. It is a good accommodation choice for those who want to linger a while and enjoy what the Taupo region has to offer, which is what you chose to do. We'd love to host you again for some more prolonged breakfast chats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nice stay--very clean and spacious room. Great breakfast as well. Owners were helpful in providing sightseeong tips. Very modern bathroom with heated towel rack and floors. Nice choice and only a few minutes into town. We were in one of the B&B rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Taupo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We have done our best to create a special environment for our guests. Your accommodation is not just a room but a place to be pampered and relax at the end of a busy day. Stay a while and enjoy our garden/ vineyard setting, take some walks in the park nearby, hire a bike and explore the cycle trails, play golf on one of Taupo's International golf courses: the list of things to do is long.
Our location, while not in the centre of town, has convenient access and is a quiet haven for those who prefer to be out of the hussle and bustle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend mountain biking. The B&B is ideally located close loads of great tracks. We stayed in the apartment, it had a well appointed kitchen and a nice veranda for the BBQ. Unfortunately the weather turned and we never managed to get out on our bikes, but the accommodation was so nice we didn't feel it was a wasted weekend. Lynne was very friendly and made us feel welcome. I'd thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Taupo, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We've had great weather since, but springtime does bring a mixed package, so be prepared for cool evenings and some rainy days. Fortunately there are lots of other things to do in Taupo if the weather doesn't oblige.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havelock ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed our last five nights in New Zealand at Rive Gauche in the studio apartment and thoroughly enjoyed our private, scenic location just up from Huka Falls. The apartment is beautifully decorated, bright, immaculate with great attention paid to detail. Great barbecue. Kitchenette facilities include microwave but no stove top. Maps and local activities are available to review and Lynne is a wealth of information. Wi-fi available. Lynne and Jim’s enthusiasm for meeting and hosting fellow travellers makes the stay so very delightful—our thanks for your efforts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Taupo, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The studio now has a hotplate to extend the cooking options as we have noticed a trend for people to eat in more often than previouly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had 5 wonderful days in the studio at Rive Gauche B&B in February this year.

Rive Gauche is a beautiful house in an excellent location, within easy walking distance of Hukka Falls and Taupo, yet very quiet and peaceful. Our hosts, Lynne and Jim, were very welcoming and they provided us with very useful information about places to visit nearby.

The accommodation was first class and we enjoyed a glass or wine or two on the patio enjoying the views and the sunshine. We were lucky enough to be able to use the BBQ on a couple of occasions.

We hope to visit again some time in the future.

Room Tip: The studio is excellent if you plan to stay for a few days. The accommodation was very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This B&B is in a very new house, located just 3 min drive from Taupo town. It is quiet with nice views on the forest (no lake views, but that is ok). We booked the studio room for 2 nights. It has a kitchenette, ok for small cooking, with microwave and electrical cooking pan. Just a pity it has no stove (like for boiling some pasta). You can use the bbq also if you wish.
The room is very spacious, clean, and has a modern bathroom. We were also allowed to use the garage to put our mountain bike in, and they did not charge us for the washing machine we used once. You have your own patio in the garden, very relaxing.
The hosts are very friendly, and invited us over for a drink. We had a lovely talk, the wine kept on flowing!
Taupo is great for mountainbiking and walking. The town was very much alive (summer peak period), we loved this area. So much better then Rotorua!
If in Taupo, we would go back to Rive Gauche.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Taupo, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Most studio guests haven't wanted more cooking facilities than we provide, however we are considering adding a hot plate to give more flexibility to the existing arrangements. The main reason we have not encouraged more cooking is that there is as yet no extractor fan in the kitchenette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rive Gauche B&B Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rive Gauche B&B Taupo

Address: 128 Ferndale Way | RD 4, Taupo 3384, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rive Gauche B&B Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish modern home offering luxury bed and breakfast and self-catering accommodation options. Located on a tranquil 1 hectare site with private gardens and its own vineyard overlooking the Waikato River Valley near Huka Falls, Rive Gauche is only 2km from Taupo CBD. Ease of access to main routes means convenience for visiting Taupo and the many tourist attractions of the Central North Island. Our 3 rooms all have en-suite bathrooms, tea/coffee making facilities, independent access, off-street parking and Free Wifi. A generous breakfast is included in the B&B tariff, however studio guests may choose an independent option for a lower tariff. Genuine Kiwi hopitality offered by well travelled hosts. English, French and some German spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rive Gauche B&B Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rive Gauche B&B Taupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.