We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best butter chicken ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Affair

Indian Affair
34 Cnr Ruapehu and Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 33300, New Zealand
07-378 2295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 109 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best butter chicken ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have eaten here many times,I love the butter chicken,it is the best I have ever had.
My grandson also loves to eat here,harlen is 8...They have a great menu choice.
All the staff are very helpful and friendly...
Fab choice of drinks too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    39
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best indian food I have eaten for a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Walked in after a couple of drinks. Seated very quickly by a nice waiter. The menu was comprehensive and value for money.
The food when it arrived was absolutely delicious.
Try it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamahere, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mouth Watering Morsel in every bite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Whenever I go to Taupo, I always try to book into this restaurant because I absolutely love Indian cuisine and this is one of my favorite places to go. The waiting staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is without a doubt some of the nicest Indian I've had. The other two couples we were with were also very complimentary and they too had a fabulous dining experience. The concierge remembered me from the last time I was in and it was so nice to be addressed by my first name. Also, as a little extra, we were given a little "sweet treat" to see us on our way - YUM! Thanks to the wonderful team at Indian Affair :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DON'T give it a miss!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have been semi-regular visitors of Indian Affair for a few years now and have always found the staff helpful and friendly and the food of good quality. Unlike the review written on 10 Jan 13 we have never found anything but a very acceptable dining experience. We also get takeaways there and have always been very happy with it, although we have never taken them "back to the Hilton" I suspect a sense of self grandeur may have been an influence here. Recently I presented a discount card that I had already redeemed (whoops) and was given the discount anyway. Thanks! We will obviously go back to Indian Affair for more good food and polite, friendly service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Excellent evening Harry & the team are very friendly, looked after us with top quality food & service. Spoilt our Birthday friends with a Birthday shot & delicious Mango Ice Cream.. Excellent night all round.. Cheers Harry & the friendly team at Indian Affair.. Emma :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Affair also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Indian Affair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Affair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.