We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Affair

Indian Affair
34 Cnr Ruapehu and Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 33300, New Zealand
07-378 2295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 110 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Recently during our trip to Taupo, went to buy some dinner. The guy taking the order was an Indian and we specifically them him that we want the food prepared Indian style and Indian hot. Since it was a take away we could not taste the food before we left the restaurant. But after we reached our Hotel, we could just not eat that food. Every thing was made so sweet (keeping in view normal Kiwi customer), but for an Indian, you cannot eat any curry that is sweet. Horrible Food Horrible service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    39
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An affair not to be missed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was lucky enough to be taken to an Indian Affair in Taupo. What a wonderful experience it turned out to be.
The service was friendly and efficient and the food delicious. Their pashwari nan was more like a Christmas pudding it had so much dried fruit in it but other than that I couldn't find anything to fault with this wonderful restaurant .
Hardina or Harry as he is known to the locals is one of the owners of this wonderful restaurant. He was charming and very helpful when assisting me in making up my mind about what to order. The menu was so comprehensive, I was spoiled for choice.
Their wine list is excellent and better still you can bring your own if you prefer to.
Booking a table in peak months I would I imagine would be a must.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Busy little Resturant which proves its definitely worth a visit. Great selection on the menu. Very efficient staff too. Above all else it was an affordable eat out for the two of us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Dined here many times and also home delivery. Always superb, great value and well looked after every time. Remember to book as they are always busy

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food I've Had in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Friends recommended this restaurant in Taupo, and I'm glad they did. It was the best Indian food I've had since leaving London, and I strongly recommend it to people who enjoy high end Indian cuisine. The restaurant is in a good location in the center of town. The decor is tasteful and warm, the service was very good, and they had a nice wine list, which you don't always get in Indian restaurants here. I'd definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Affair also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Indian Affair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Affair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.