We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"AWESOME" - EASTER WEEKEND 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chris Jolly Outdoors

Chris Jolly Outdoors
Ferry Road | Taupo Boat Harbour, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
+64 7-378 0623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 Tours & Activities in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This family run business has been operating scenic cruises, private boat charters, Trout fishing tours, guided hiking and hunting excursions on and around Lake Taupo for over 30 years. Offering 4 launches to choose from with outstanding facilities for entertaining, scenic tours and of course Trout fishing. Chris Jolly and his team will ensure you have the tip of a lifetime. Also our new Boat shuttles on the Great Lake Trail - NZ Cycle Trail (Nga Haeranga)we can boat shuttle you from bay to bay.
Te Kuiti
1 review
“"AWESOME" - EASTER WEEKEND 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We (7 of us) booked a 6 hour cruise on a Sunday for a family day outing. Our main feature was "trout fishing". We boarded the Supercat 9am greated by our friendly host's Larry and Amelia. Magnificent sceneries, cruise E az trout fishing, swimming, mean munch, we caught some beauty trout and lots of gr8 photo's. Myself and family totally enjoyed ourselves. Thanks Larry and Amelia for the Awesome day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    12
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went on the Sunday Brunch cruise to see the Maori rock carvings.

Crew relaxed, friendly and helpful. Good commentary and the brunch was lovely and plenty of it. Maori carvings are well worth a look.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We took the short cruise to see the Maori Rock Carvings - and were amazed at how close we got to them. Phobie was a a lovely lady who dealt with our booking, Ed, the ships captain, gave a very imformative talk throughout the tour and Millie served some excellent muffins besides keeping us amply supplied with coffee. It was a great experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“wonderful kayaking and boat cruise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Highly recommend. Originally we only planned on going kayaking on lake Taupo but after a chat with Phoebie we decide on the kayak for a few hours and an evening cruise to the rock carvings. We even had time for a hike out to huka falls and a dip in the hot springs with Phoebies help. Great day in Taupo.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic Trout on Taupo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Three generations of the Lawrie family enjoyed a fantastic morning's fishing on Lake Taupo. Grandad actually caught the most fish! The crew were fantastic rigging up all the lines and providing great advice to make sure the fish stayed on the line. We caught 5 great trout. We ate two that night and smoked three others. We are still enjoying our catch :)

We were seldom without a "fish on" which was a real bonus. Will definitely be back

Thanks to all at Chris Jolly!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chris Jolly Outdoors also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Chris Jolly Outdoors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chris Jolly Outdoors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.