We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection... again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Lago

Bistro Lago
80-100 Napier Taupo Highway, Taupo, New Zealand
073762319
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 110 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: $19 - $29
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfection... again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Returned back to Hilton & dined (dinner) in-house at Bistro Lago.

Our stay was a long one so we dined on many occasions, from simple bar tapas type set-up to a more formal dining situation. We also opted to have Christmas lunch there too & on each & every occasion the service was perfect, food cooked to perfection with an interesting flair from Head Chef, Jason & his team.

On the 3rd day of our stay a new Summer menu was introduced... I have to say it is quite simply stunning. Beautiful fresh flavours with a quirky twist. Jason certainly knows how to showcase New Zealand's beautiful produce, particularly seafood & local beef.

Staff are exemplary as usual... Michael & Trevor with their quirky sense of humour, Nicole, Kerry, Nicky & Jen for their bright smiles & kindness... everyone is lovely & takes great pride in looking after diners.

We also met Simon Gault (executive chef for Bistro Lago), his family & local friends, enjoyed drinks in the Lago lounge with them was highly entertaining & fun.

I love Bistro Lago because its one of those gems that keeps getting better & better. Australian hotels could learn a lot from this restaurant.

We look forward to returning later in 2013.

Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    57
    21
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were staying at the Hilton for 3 nights and had most of our meals at this lovely restaurant. It was consistently first class, both the food and the service. There was a very nice ambience, and we had delightful meals sitting near the windows admiring the view and beautiful sunsets.
The food was delicious, beautifully cooked , presented and the staff friendly and very helpful.
Thank you so much.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We ate at Bistro Lago 2 nights ago and as usual it was fantastic in every respect. We had the Alaskan crab entree and my wife tempura prawns; both great. Mains were fillet cooked perfectly blue and the chicken breast which was out of this world. Partnered with a bottle of Vouvray this was meal up with the best we have had in recent times in NZ.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
1 review
“Fantastic food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife had a amazing experience at Bistro Lago and would return any time and fully recommend it to any one. The service was soo friendly and proffessional we felt special . Thank you very much

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Poor service and average food lets it down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Staying at the Hilton, the breakfast in this place was pretty ordinary. Service was poor, without a smile, and disgruntled looking waiters, in particular a half bald asian male who took our order on the last day. I don't pay hundreds of dollars to see a request for coffee responded to by a less than exciting 'humph'

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Lago also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Bistro Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.