We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid It” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Crooked Door Gastropub - CLOSED

The Crooked Door Gastropub
Corner of Roberts St & Titiraupenga St, Taupo, New Zealand
07 376 8030
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Run by local couple Leon and Sharon, The Crooked Door is situated in Taupo's only mock-tudor building. A unique destination of contemporary cuisine, hearty favourites, indulgent desserts & decadent cocktails, in the style of a British Gastropub, we pride ourselves in serving excellent, yet unpretentious food and beverages.Our comprehensive menu has a dish for everyone, whether you drop in for a casual drink and an iTi plate (smaller versions of our menu favourites) or stay for longer and enjoy our cosy atmosphere with a main meal, dessert or more.For all occasions we have a separate room that can accommodate groups of up to 20 people for Dinner.We are offering Daily Specials, come and visit us today!!!Checkout our Facebook page or website for Specials and a full menu listing.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid It”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place is a dump. We went there for a dessert and wine/coffee.
The smell inside was repugnant so appreciated being put by an open window. Menus were delivered, but thats when service stopped. We waited, but service staff, sorry waitresses, kept wandering and clearing tables even though there were no other diners arriving.
After about 15 minutes we left. No such thing as service in this place.
Probably we were lucky, because the next place we went to was fantastic with great staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good honest food and friendly owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

No nonsense food at a decent price. As it lists itself as a pub it could have had a better range of draught beer but that's a small criticism.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“deffinately worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

excellent food and reasonably priced. this place just need more signage or advertisement to attract people as when you drive past apart from a small sign it really doesn't look open.

really impressive food though

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Back to the future”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

What we have heard people is time travel!!! Back into the 80's. Honestly the food was bland, very poorly presented (carrot and celery sticks went out years ago, not what is like in the photographs!! You will be very disappointed if you think you are getting the chowder from the picture), old and ran down and ordinary service. My husband and I order (which took a while to happen) the four "gastro" tapas, the pork belly came out first and we thought it was one at a time. We finished the pork and then the next three came altogether. It was very disjointed! I honestly have no idea how it is ranked so high on tripadvisor. Don't fall into the same trap as we did! You will be disappointed, as we are!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

No great pretensions here. Wholesome, well prepared and cooked meals in the pub style. Portions are enormous, even the tapas style iti plates are large. The prawn cocktail starter had at least 15 good sized prawns. The pork belly main was enough to feed a family. No complaints though it was good value and we had an enjoyable evening. Wine list interesting and good value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crooked Door Gastropub also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crooked Door Gastropub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.