We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No words can describe how lovely this place is. One sentence is definitely not enough.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richlyn Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Richlyn Homestay to your Saves list
Richlyn Homestay
1 Mark Wynd | Bonshaw Park, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Taupo B&B and Inns
Auckland
1 review
“No words can describe how lovely this place is. One sentence is definitely not enough.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We needed a break away, and got that and more at Richlyn Homestay.
The images on the website are true to life - it was so nice to stay somewhere where there were no nasty surprises.
Richard and Lyn are such amazing, tentative hosts.

We'll definitely be staying here again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yrakei, Owner at Richlyn Homestay, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Lisa and Luke, thank you, we also enjoyed your company, hope the house hunting goes well for you in the near future. Cheers, Lyn and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
29
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Wow, what a wonderful B&B, from the welcoming coffee, tea and homemade goodies to the nice little hot tub and everything in between. We really enjoyed Lyn and Richard's company. It was nice to come back at the end of the day and sit and talk with them over coffee and tea. Roscoe was a great little host too, greeting us each time we returned with a big wag of his tail and jumping up to say hi!. Breakfast was great, anything from the simple cereals to a full blown cooked breakfast, Richard's homemade bread was fabulous, we felt like family. Their advise on what to see and were to go was perfect. We really enjoyed the Orakei Korako thermal park they suggested. I would highly recommend Richlyn Homestay if traveling to Taupo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is really something quite different to other B&B's we've stayed at. Lyn and Richard are wonderful hosts and clearly delight in sharing their beautiful home with you. We really enjoyed returning at the end of the day to sit by the fire with a cup of tea and home baked goodies, chatting and laughing with our hosts. They had many wonderful stories to tell and great advise on where to go and what to. The accommodation was luxurious, clean and very comfortable. They are situated approx. 10 minutes drive from the centre of town. Rosco, their bichon friese dog will just steal your heart away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were made very welcome by Richard, Lynn and Rosco (the dog). The house is immaculate, with good quality furnishings and guests are invited to use their lounges. Our room was very comfortable with an en suite bathroom. Breakfasts were v good as were the afternoon tea, the homemade lemon muffins in particular. Lynn recommended a good, reasonably priced restaurant called, Plateau and an interesting thermal park, Orakei Korako.

Room Tip: Our room had en suite, the others share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Friends recommended we stay here. What a recommendation! Richlyn is located a few kilometres outside of the town. Locating it is easy from the website instructions. The setting is glorious in well maintained gardens. The rooms cater for your every need. Your hosts, Richard & Lynn are full of suggestions of what to do, where to eat and will assist to your every need. Breakfast range from the simple to the excellent full breakfast depending on what you would like for the day. You can change your request on a daily basis if that's what you wish. It's ideal for couples wanting peace. For young families, it's probably too far out of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife is very discerning when it comes to staying anywhere but our own home. She had read the favorable reviews at the Richlyn B & B and we gave it a shot. We were more than impressed by the overall experience. Everything was clean as could be, the breakfasts were beyond tasty, and the hosts, Richard and Lynn, are genuinely gracious people. We stayed there for our 2 nights in Taupo, in the midst of a 17 day journey throughout New Zealand and we can't say enough about this place. It is a place we'd happily recommend to anyone looking for a first rate operation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Clean, beautifully decorated, modern, peaceful B&B. Very friendly and welcoming owners. Multiple, tasty breakfast options. Nice location - less than 10 minutes drive to Taupo centre in a beautiful little spot. Highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richlyn Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richlyn Homestay

Address: 1 Mark Wynd | Bonshaw Park, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Richlyn Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richlyn Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.