We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Luxurious, Welcoming, Will love to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richlyn Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Richlyn Homestay to your Saves list
Richlyn Homestay
1 Mark Wynd | Bonshaw Park, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Taupo B&B and Inns
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
“"Luxurious, Welcoming, Will love to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Richlyn is a fabulous place to stay. We found it luxurious, welcoming and very clean. The Hosts, Rich and Lyn are wonderful people and felt just like old friends. We could not fault Richlyn, it was purely impeccable. We felt spoilt and the breakfast was tremendous and we thoroughly enjoyed the homemade bread.
On another opportunity to visit and stay in Taupo, Richlyn will be on the top of the list for us to stay. Thanks Lyn and Rich. Hope to come again soon....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Richlyn for one night on our way down to Wellington. The house and grounds are beautiful and the hosts, Richard and Lyn met us with tea and cake.

The room was wonderful and very well appointed. We felt very relaxed and ready for another long drive in the morning. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, especially the homemade bread.

We would certainly stay here again - a really friendly place to stay.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Had a very enjoyable relaxing stay at Richlyn.
Hosts Richard & Lyn (and Rosco the dog) make you feel right at home and are very accommodating. The rooms are superb with much attention to detail.

If you are visiting Taupo for leisure or business, you need to stay here at least once!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Needing a getaway from the pollution & lack of personal space that one deals with in China, we found so much more than expected at Richlyn Homestay. The property has definitely been developed with personal, loving hands. The attention to all the details made us want to linger and stay longer. And the hosts - Lyn & Rich - were warm and inviting, making sure we were well-fed and relaxed for our entire stay. The location is a touch out of town so renting a car is better than depending on taxi-service. But, that will definitely not stop us from visiting again, and we look forward to our next trip!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Richard and Lyn provide all you need for a great experience in Taupo. Their home is beautifully decorated and our room with ensuite bathroom was very comfortable. We spent hours each evening talking about their travels in Europe and New Zealand and got some great tips from them to help shape our future plans. The house is about 5 minutes outside of Taupo and off the main highway which makes for a quiet, relaxing stay. Roscoe, their new puppy, is very smart and quite entertaining in his own right. A great place to stay when in Taupo.

Room Tip: 2 rooms have ensuite facilities and 2 do not
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I was fortunate enough to have discovered Richlyn on my trip to NZ and it turned out to be one of the highlights of my trip. The friendly hospitality, the luxurious accommodation, the delicious food, the peace and tranquility and the spa bath after the Tongariro crossing are some of the happy memories that I have of my stay at Richlyn.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We only had one night at Richlyn but our hosts (Richard & Lyn) made us so at home, we wish we could've stayed longer. Situated a short drive out of Taupo, Richlyn is nestled amongst the trees on 5 acres and it's not just the scenery that is absolutely lush. The house is fantastic, our room was spacious and the bed huge - but also incredibly comfortable. The attention to detail was brilliant and we felt very at home. We had lots of help settling in from Rosco - the B&Bs adorable puppy - and on arrival scored tea & scones which were freshly made by Lyn. We spent a bit of our afternoon chatting with Richard & Lyn learning about the local area over a glass of wine and they were very generous with their time & knowledge. Breakfast was a feast, the hosts were locals and helpful (gave us great dinner recommendations) and the surroundings were truly beautiful. We had a short but terrific stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Richlyn Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richlyn Homestay

Address: 1 Mark Wynd | Bonshaw Park, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Richlyn Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richlyn Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.