We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of my trip to New Zealand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richlyn Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Richlyn Homestay to your Saves list
Richlyn Homestay
1 Mark Wynd | Bonshaw Park, Taupo 2730, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Taupo B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A highlight of my trip to New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I was fortunate enough to have discovered Richlyn on my trip to NZ and it turned out to be one of the highlights of my trip. The friendly hospitality, the luxurious accommodation, the delicious food, the peace and tranquility and the spa bath after the Tongariro crossing are some of the happy memories that I have of my stay at Richlyn.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
29
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We only had one night at Richlyn but our hosts (Richard & Lyn) made us so at home, we wish we could've stayed longer. Situated a short drive out of Taupo, Richlyn is nestled amongst the trees on 5 acres and it's not just the scenery that is absolutely lush. The house is fantastic, our room was spacious and the bed huge - but also incredibly comfortable. The attention to detail was brilliant and we felt very at home. We had lots of help settling in from Rosco - the B&Bs adorable puppy - and on arrival scored tea & scones which were freshly made by Lyn. We spent a bit of our afternoon chatting with Richard & Lyn learning about the local area over a glass of wine and they were very generous with their time & knowledge. Breakfast was a feast, the hosts were locals and helpful (gave us great dinner recommendations) and the surroundings were truly beautiful. We had a short but terrific stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

This B&B is more like a de luxe hotel. Only 5 minutes out of Taupo in a really peaceful, tranquil location. We stayed one night en route South booking through the website 'Wotif', which offered a great deal. We had the bedroom with en suite facilities, quite exceptional and the breakfast, well, al I can say is "WOW"! The hosts, Lyn and Richard were most generous making us feel very much at home, their house is their pride and joy and it is very special. Go there... it is superb and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Just had another 2 nights with richard and lyn on their wonderful property.
happend to be that they were hosting a bunch of local artists for a day in the garden so i got to wander and chat to them as they worked and sold thier beautiful wears!......a VERY unique experience.
as always the Richard and Lyn made me feel welcome, fresh cappicino on arrival with some of Lyns home baking, hard to believe its been a year since i stayed with them last time, the gardens are looking fantastic!, and the new fountain looks and sounds amazing!.

I stayed in a different room this visit, but am pleased to say the bed was just as comfortable as my last stay, and as with the whole house, the furninshings beautiful.
going to miss the smell of richards freshly baked bread each morning, but if i stayed any longer i'd put on 5kg!.


thanks again for the warm welcome, and relaxing stay,
i'm back through taupo again in June,..............see you then!.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

a great big thanks to richard and lyn for there hospitality,
have taken a while to get around to writing here, but better late than never.
had a wonderful time, wandering the gardens, lying under the shady trees,
listening to the birds and relaxing in the spa pool gazing at the night sky.
booked one night and loved it so much our group of 4 stayed on another 3 nights.
stuff rotorua, taupo has it going on.
looked at hotels in town, with no comparison,
the standard is right up there with the best in the world.
i cant say enough about it.
next trip to Taupo, we will be definately be staying again.
i've stayed in accomodation around the world..........this rates in my top ten places to stay globally....
thanks richard and lyn,

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

A private and relaxing location, beautiful trees and wonderful bird life
Large rooms with quality facilities
A most enjoyable time with great hosts
Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We have stayed with Richard and Lyn a number of times as guests at this beautifully quiet, relaxing & wonderfully appointed homestay.

Richard and Lyn are most gracious hosts, they love to entertain and have a great stock of quality wines, and the food is superb.

My visits to taupo are generally business trips, and Richlyn homestay allows us to be close to town, but far enough away to feel we are in the outbacks. We feel at peace here.

The rooms are very comfortable and the beds are like sleeping on clouds.

If you are visiting Taupo this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richlyn Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richlyn Homestay

Address: 1 Mark Wynd | Bonshaw Park, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Richlyn Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richlyn Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.