We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B in Taupo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B @ Number Ten

B&B @ Number Ten
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B @ Number Ten to your Saves list
B&B @ Number Ten
10 Coprosma Crescent | Botanical Heights, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Taupo B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best B&B in Taupo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ann and John Page's modern home (built in 2008), in the upscale Botanical Heights subdivision near De Brett's and a short distance from the town centre, is an exceptional place to stay in Taupo. The room and en-suite bath were spotlessly clean, spacious, attractively furnished, and came with plush towels, all reflecting Ann's strong sense of good design. Each room has a view of the lake, as well as an adjoining patio to enjoy the afternoon and evening sun. Although there are no screens on the windows (which seems to be typical throughout New Zealand, notwithstanding the mosquitos in Auckland this summer), the windows can be dogged open securely for some fresh air, plus, our guest room was air-conditioned.

Ann is a welcoming and friendly host; her breakfasts are delicious. Located in a quiet neighbourhood away from any road noise, we slept very soundly. I highly recommend booking the Page's B&B @ Number Ten for accommodations in the Taupo area of the North Island; it was the most comfortable and most enjoyable place we stayed at during our three weeks in NZ.

Rick H.
Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: Magnolia Guestroom has a king bed. Comprosma Guestroom, with north facing windows onto the street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room (The Magnolia Guestroom) spacious and comfortable. It was great to see you both relaxing and making the most of the warm sunny evenings on your courtyard.
We thoroughly enjoyed our conversations – breakfast was certainly lively and fun!! Thank you for your generous review. We hope you will return, one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Anne and John have created the best B & B we have encountered on our month tour of NZ. From the classic contemporary furnishings to the marvellous breakfasts, the comfortable beds and gorgeous new bathrooms, all make for the most enjoyable stay. They are exemplary hosts, they are so warm and welcoming to their home, offering advice over a glass of wine on the terrace overlooking the lake - what could be better ! You must stay here, even if you have to make a detour to get here. Macleod World Tour

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your “glowing” review and for being 5* guests! We had such a wonderful time with you both, its means so much that you enjoyed sharing our home with us. Happy and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our next stop is B&B Number Ten in Taupo. It’s modern and clean. Ann, the type of granny you’d adopt right away, is very sweet, warm, familial, and relaxed. She even let our baby empty out all the kitchen drawers. She cooks us lamb ribs for breakfast, so we feel like real Kiwis. But we have trouble getting friendly with »Marmite«, a food spread made from yeast extract. John, her husband, helps us to optimise our itinerary for the South Island. Fantastic hosts, no question ... more infos on our trip through New Zealand? — get our AORTICA Magazine, N°02.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We have such fond memories of you all. The lively conversations at the end of each day were stimulating and fun and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in the beautiful South Island. How privileged we were to have lunch with you at your home late last year and the unforgettable afternoon exploring your magnificent region of Germany. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for two nights on a short (5day) north island trip. John and Ann were wonderful hosts, inviting us for drinks, arranging a tour and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were immaculate - clean, modern, comfy bed, private ensuite and fast wifi internet available. 5 mins drive from Taupo CBD. Home cooked brakfasts were excellent.
Would highly recommend to others.
Andrew & Amber, From QLD, Australia

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and we are delighted we made your first Bed and Breakfast experience in New Zealand so enjoyable. We hope to see you back one day and wish you well with your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The very warm welcome of Ann and John, the situation of the BnB, the quality of the room and facilities, the area, made an unforgettable stay in Taupo.
It was like we visited friends and in the same time we felt free to go in and out, the room situated on the ground floor with a nice lovely part of garden.
Certainly if we have an opportunity to return to New Zealand we will stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt free to come and go. We so enjoyed our “catch up” each morning and listening to your stories that you shared with us. We do hope you return as we know you would find so much more to interest you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A stop that you shouldn't miss for a couple of nights in this wonderful area of New Zealand.
Very nice outstanding accomodation with wonderful services. Anne and John are amazing hosts : very helpful and friendly, their warmth make you feel like a member of the family.
Breakfasts are fabulous, very healthy and you can only start your day with a big smile on your face.
The area is very peaceful and quiet, the view on the lake is amazing.
There are so many things to visit around this area that you can easily stay there for a couple of nights, discovering new scenaries every day.
We will never forget our stay in this precious place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Your brief time with us was very special and our long conversations will never be forgotten. We are so happy that you felt at home with us, we certainly enjoyed sharing our home with you. We were very impressed at how much you managed to see and do in the short time you had in this beautiful part of New Zealand. Hopefully we will meet again, one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My hubby and I stayed with John and Ann during the Taupo cycle challenge for two nights. The B&B is brilliantly placed for this as it is close enough to town to allow for easy commutes (by car or on foot) but is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle to mean you're not disrupted by the cycle challenge traffic/road closures. The accommodation itself is immaculate and super comfortable, plus Ann goes the extra mile by including lots of little extras in the rooms which makes you feel very well looked after. Breakfasts are incredible and plentiful so set you up for the whole day. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Lovely to know you felt well looked after during your stay with us. We will never forget the fun atmosphere during breakfast on Sunday morning!! We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and hope you will chose to stay with us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B @ Number Ten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ Number Ten

Address: 10 Coprosma Crescent | Botanical Heights, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your B&B @ Number Ten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B @ Number Ten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.