We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salute Taupo Cafe & Deli

Salute Taupo Cafe & Deli
45 Horomatangi Street, Taupo 2730, New Zealand
+64 7 377 4478
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 89 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stumbled on Salute - and it will become our regular when passing through Taupo. The decor is excellent, the food perfect, the staff friendly and helpful - all topped off with quality music sitting around a great gas fire.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    0
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Auckland meets taupo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place is very similar to some of the great cafe/delis in Auckland. the combination works well and creates a great atmosphere. The service is excellent and i always enjoy the little bits of class they they add to the experience here. The food is always great as is the coffee. A great spot and plenty of room to spread out. Plenty of room outside as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always fresh and delicious and the use of free range ham + eggs is awsome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have been to Salute many times in the past few years and it is consistently good.I always choose my cake portion first then decide on the savoury part because the cakes are always fresh and delicious. The banana and pecan cake amazing! One of the best things about this cafe is their use of freedom farmed eggs, chicken and ham. I think that is just fantastic I wish more places would support animal ethics. I also like the relaxed Italian decor and the lovely Italian music. My one criticism is the wooden chairs and tables on a concrete floor, the noise every time someone drags their chair is horrific. When I was last in their a group decided to move two tables together then move them back again because it was too close to the fire.... I nearly lost my mind with the noise, the person I was with couldn’t hear a word I was saying! Two words ...carpet squares = no noise!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Lovely environment, great coffee, excellent food. And on a cold Taupo day, cosy and warm with the gas fire. A great spot. We always return when we visit Taupo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Interesting and delicious menu, worth a visit, we enjoyed 2 breakfasts here, loved the avocado on toast and the homemade baked beans mmmm

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salute Taupo Cafe & Deli also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Salute Taupo Cafe & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salute Taupo Cafe & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.