We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffy and cramped” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers to your Saves list
Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers
76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stuffy and cramped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed in a twin room that was incredibly small, quite smelly and very stuffy. No air-conditioning or fan made sleeping very difficult and the sound of the TV in the kitchen added to the poor night's sleep. The kitchen itself was well-equipped but the overall experience of our stay here was not great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
12
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. The sheets were clean but had some old marks on them which didn't give a good impression. The bathroom was nifty with the central lock so you knew no-one from the other room would barge in on you! The room is tight but has TV with sky and the kitchen stuff was pretty handy. The whole place has the air of being a bit run down but it was very close to lake terrace and we cooked a pizza in the room then drove the couple of minutes to the waterfront to have dinner at sunset. It's within a good walk to Huka Falls. Location is good but not sure I would stay again.

Room Tip: We got the double with sharing bathroom and full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We made the mistake of leaving our Kindle and some headphones in our room when we left early in the morning to go to a wedding. When I went back a couple of hours later to collect the missing gear, it was gone.

I scoured our car, our baggage, the linen which had been taken out of the bedroom and checked everywhere we had been in Taupo. I had been reading the Kindle in bed the night before and the only place it could have been was in our room at Astro Accomodation. Long story short, it turns out our stuff had been stolen, most likely by the cleaner (who would not look me in the eye and was very keen to get away when I questioned her about the missing gear). The motel manager Debbie, who was actually very good, acknowledged as much when I talked to her about it later that day. She said she would call the police, at the owner's advice.

The room was okay, if small, and the bed comfortable. But having your stuff stolen kind of outweighs any of that. Don't go here.

Room Tip: Don't get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Such a great place to stay! not sure if under new management from previous reviews but my experience was fantastic! The lady at the front desk was so friendly and helpful for things to do with a little one. The room was smaller than im used to but was clean and just perfect for me and my daughter. In all was a wonderful place to stay and i shall definitely be back. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This Motel was disgusting. I would never recommend this place to anyone. The first room we were showed into smelt like urine, and we had to ask to change to another. In the second room there were nails on the floor, the shower door would not open and was very unsafe. This room also smelt a bit. In the end we just packed up and left even though we had paid for two nights. It really was terrible and it is not worth staying here, for about 10 dollars more you can go and stay anywhere else!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay in any of these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

i have nothing good to say about this.
first the woman behind the desk is soooooo rude and snarky and not helpful at all when we reported that the phone didnt work and beds werent made. i will say hand over heart i have never ever received such bad serice.
rooms are unclean with broken things, tv only plays one channel and you can hear everything that is going on in the other room.

you can find a nicer place which would be cheaper.

DONT stay here - there are places that are cheaper and better !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

i didnt have a very good experience. Firstly the staff have mucked up our booking, and wouldnt change it because they were fully booked which was a lie because the sign still said vacanceys. when we got to the room, there was a phone which was broken hanging of a nail. the rooms arent sound proof so you can hear everything going on in the room next door. there is a kitchen however no utencils and glasses or pans so no point.

i wont be staying here again

Room Tip: keep in mind you have to share a bathroom with the room next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers

Address: 76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget motel and backpacker accommodation that “Stands Above The Rest”The Perfect Room Recipe. Astro Accommodation Taupo presents Taupo’s most flexible, value-for-money accommodation solution.Check out the wide variety of room combination's on offer in the Astro Accommodation Taupo range.Mix private rooms with compact, shared units to suit every budget. The perfect accommodation recipe for your group of travelers. Variety and flexibility, essential ingredients for group travel.Experience Taupo from unique Astro Accommodation Taupo; you’ll be close to the central business district, a stroll away from shopping and Taupo’s best restaurants. This is a great place to stay for business people, sports groups and school trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.