We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers

Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers to your Saves list
Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers
76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“perfectly cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Such a great place to stay! not sure if under new management from previous reviews but my experience was fantastic! The lady at the front desk was so friendly and helpful for things to do with a little one. The room was smaller than im used to but was clean and just perfect for me and my daughter. In all was a wonderful place to stay and i shall definitely be back. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
9
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This Motel was disgusting. I would never recommend this place to anyone. The first room we were showed into smelt like urine, and we had to ask to change to another. In the second room there were nails on the floor, the shower door would not open and was very unsafe. This room also smelt a bit. In the end we just packed up and left even though we had paid for two nights. It really was terrible and it is not worth staying here, for about 10 dollars more you can go and stay anywhere else!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay in any of these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

i have nothing good to say about this.
first the woman behind the desk is soooooo rude and snarky and not helpful at all when we reported that the phone didnt work and beds werent made. i will say hand over heart i have never ever received such bad serice.
rooms are unclean with broken things, tv only plays one channel and you can hear everything that is going on in the other room.

you can find a nicer place which would be cheaper.

DONT stay here - there are places that are cheaper and better !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

i didnt have a very good experience. Firstly the staff have mucked up our booking, and wouldnt change it because they were fully booked which was a lie because the sign still said vacanceys. when we got to the room, there was a phone which was broken hanging of a nail. the rooms arent sound proof so you can hear everything going on in the room next door. there is a kitchen however no utencils and glasses or pans so no point.

i wont be staying here again

Room Tip: keep in mind you have to share a bathroom with the room next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed one night here in a room. It was a nice and comfy double bed room. Equipped with TV, heater, tea and coffee facility, and a microwave. There is a common kitchen to do the washing up, plus a big tv in there too. Shower/toilet was clean, but considered small. I'm small size person, so that is just fine by me. The manager was nice too. Would recommend to my friends/family of my size.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights, in a twin room with ensuite. Chose this place because of the reasonable price and having read that the rooms were quite small. Despite that I was still suprised at the tiny nature of the rooms - there's about 30-40 cms between the beds and the kitchenette unit consisted of a small fridge with a shelf above, a microwave above that, and a further shelf (no sink or bench space). Storage was an issue as there was no space for bags apart from the floor where you need to walk! The bathroom was comparitevely roomy - I think they could have made this a bit smallerand the room slightly larger. Also note that the spa is in the laundry, with no view.

I was kept awake for a while but some strange grunting noise from the owner's room next door, hence the low score for sleep quality.

However, the room was very clean and comfortable in general, and good value for the price paid. I would recommend it for someone on a budget but not wishing to stay in a hostel dorm, although this place does offer these as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view if possible - ours had a tiny window to the driveway but some of the ones up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

First of all it seemed like a real nice place, the rooms were clean and the manager seemed nice, apart from the fact that she hinted to us to mop our own bathroom floor as it wasn't ready for us.
After dropping our stuff in the room we went down to ask her if there were any nice places to eat and she dismissed us, told us she was too busy to deal with us, because she hadn't cleaned a room (Check in is at 2 and it was now 5) shoved a brochure at us and stormed off.
Later on, we realised there was no remote control in our room went down to ask for one and she accused us of ''stealing'' the remote from the room next door as they didn't have one either. When we finally received a control she banged on our door and left it on the floor outside our room, and shouted ''Merry Christmas'' very sarcastically when we opened up.

We were sharing an adjoining bathroom with the room next door, the bathroom separated the two rooms so there was a door either side, which would have been fine if the doors actually locked. (we really didn't want our neighbour walking in while we were on the loo or in the shower or vise versa) Again, when we went down to tell her the bathroom door wouldn't lock she told us she was too busy to deal with it right now, (She was actually blaming another guest for booking the wrong days instead of admitting it was a mistake on her part) Which was fine but after 2 hours of waiting nothing had happened.
I heard her showing the guest to the room next door and playing around with the bathroom locks but still had no instruction as to what we were to do.
Once more we went downstairs to ask her, and my boyfriend heard her complaining about all the guests on her MOBILE phone saying she couldn't be bothered to deal with anyone else and actually named a few room numbers including ours explaining that we kept going down and nagging her. As soon as she saw that my boyfriend was there, she didn't even stop talking, instead walked inside the office and closed the door.
We ended up speaking to the lady next door, who also was unhappy being put in a room different to what she had booked.
We ended up having to knock on the door each time we needed to use the bathroom which wasn't ideal to say the least.
Upon check out, as she saw us walking down the corridor to return our key and shut the grate on us.
Do not stay here she doesn't deserve the buisness, and blames all her mistakes on her cleaners.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers

Address: 76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget motel and backpacker accommodation that “Stands Above The Rest”The Perfect Room Recipe. Astro Accommodation Taupo presents Taupo’s most flexible, value-for-money accommodation solution.Check out the wide variety of room combination's on offer in the Astro Accommodation Taupo range.Mix private rooms with compact, shared units to suit every budget. The perfect accommodation recipe for your group of travelers. Variety and flexibility, essential ingredients for group travel.Experience Taupo from unique Astro Accommodation Taupo; you’ll be close to the central business district, a stroll away from shopping and Taupo’s best restaurants. This is a great place to stay for business people, sports groups and school trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.