We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful gardens.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauri Point

Save Saved
You added Kauri Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kauri Point
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4 Mark Wynd, Bonshaw Park, Taupo 3379, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT FOR LOW RATES
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty lodging in Taupo
Albury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful gardens.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Kauri Point was a lovely place to stay. We hadn't tried homestay style accommodation before and were a bit wary, but Gail and Robert were friendly and welcoming, and the room was large and light, thoughtfully provided with everything a guest could possibly need or want. The highlight is the 6 acre garden, full of flowers in spring, and the great views from deck. We only stayed a night, but I wish we could have stayed longer, to give us time to soak in the peace and beauty and wander through the garden, where guests are welcome to explore. Breakfast was excellent (no need for lunch!). Highly recommend this, will certainly stay again if we return to NZ

Room Tip: Main deck has great views, and is shared by two rooms. The front room has its own private deck, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
131
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Gail and Robert were excellent hosts who went out their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable on our recent visit to Kauri Point. The rooms were spacious and impeccable in relation to their presentation. We had a lovely BBQ, organized by us at the last moment, and enjoyed relaxed post dinner drinks with our amiable hosts and another English couple. The coffee was wonderful as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I would like to say thank you for such a warm and inviting stay.
I booked Kauri Point the night before. We are from Australia and were travelling down from Auckland. We were greeted by Gail and Robert and their two very well bahaved dogs and welcomed inside a beautiful, warm home.
We were promptly shown our room which was much larger than a regular hotel room that you pay double the price for. We had our own ensuite which was large, clean and had everything you could ever need (including nail polish and remover!!).
The weather was typical New Zealand (raining sideways and windy) so we could not see any views but inside we were comfortable, warm and dry.
The beds were so comfy, it was like sleeping at home. There was plenty of extra blankets, pillows and doonas but we didnt need them.
In the morning we has a very nice continental breakfast with great coffee. Gail and Robert were great hosts and we will definately be back to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at Kauri Point with a friend in July this year and had a great time. Their home is beautiful and the view spectacular. I thought they were great hosts and our room was very comfortable. I felt welcomed and at home. I would very much recommend it and we had a great breakfast when we were there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Firstly I want to say, I read all the reviews and thought this would be a great place to stay like everyone else seemed to. We arrived and were set upon by two very energetic dogs, who jumped all over our clean clothes and pawed us and licked us. I had to spare a thought for anyone who may be scared of dogs. Especially since the host made no effort to restrain them.
We were shown to a lovely room, but were put off by the dogs who made themselves at home in the room.
Only because we had pre-booked, we had dinner with the hosts and enjoyed it thoroughly though we felt that $35pp was a little too much to pay for French Onion soup and Spaghetti Bolognese which admittedly was tasty.
Generally we had a very enjoyable night with our hosts which made our experience in the morning so inexplicable. Without having had the breakfast situation explained, we were unsure of the B&B's protocol and so helped ourselves to cereal and were then offered an espresso. The hostess then brought over 3 pieces of charred toast (to share between two of us) and sat at the end of our table and read a cooking magazine. Her only conversation was to ask if we had slept well.
When we checked out, we were expecting a little more than to be ignored whilst the hostess spoke on the phone without so much as a wave to acknowledge our custom.
Finally I would advise, you check that what is offered on the website IS actually available to you upon booking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We take these reviews very seriously and are disappointed when we recieve one like this. We believe that our other reviews speak for themselves in all the very positive comments we recieve from our many guests.

We use the reviews to alter, adjust or add to our policies and practices. Therefore from now on we will endeavour to make sure that the dogs are restrained whilst guests are being checked in to their rooms.

We are a small ,rural, family run homestay. Please read the information on the various web sites. If you do not like dogs then this probably is not the place for you.

We offer meals on a pre-booked basis only. We enjoy spending evenings with our guests over a meal and a glass of wine. However, preparing dinner is time consuming and costly, especially if it is for only two people. All our meals are home cooked and freshly prepared using the best ingredients - in this case the French onion soup was laiden with guyere and parmesan cheese and the spagetti bolognaise was made with venison.
We offer meals as a service to our guests and not as a cheap alternative to driving to a restaurant in town.

Our winter special room rate clearly offers bed and continental breakfast. These guests were offered their breakfast at a time to suit them, which was arranged as they went off to bed the night before. Cereals, fresh and stewed fruit and yoghurts are set out for self service. Guests are served juice and hot toast when they are ready accompanied by a choice of teas or coffee - we have a comercial coffee machine so we can offer a great cup of coffee. I apologise if these guests had 'charred toast'. I doubt it was that bad, I would not have served it!!!!

We have a policy of not answering the telephone whilst serving breakfast or in the company of guests. On this occasion these guests left the property whilst I was on the phone after breakfast. I am sorry that they felt they could not wait for me to end the call.

We are sorry that these guests obviously felt they had a less than satisfactory stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Kauri Point recently. We wanted a low key & relaxing weekend away, and we were glad to have found the perfect spot for it at Kauri Point. Our room was clean and spacious. We enjoyed the views and exploring their garden / outdoor area, despite the wet weather weekend.

Gail and Robert were fabulous hosts, and even their pets were very welcoming. We requested for dinner with them during our last night there and Gail's cooking was delicious. We enjoyed hanging out by the fire and chatting the night away. What a lovely evening.

Thanks Gail & Robert for your hospitality and we look forward to seeing you guys again in the near future! We missed the spa pool experience in your garden and will definitely need to check that out next time.

I would recommend anyone wanting a fabulous homestay experience to consider staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at Kauri Point for the Taupo Half Marathon weekend, we only had one nights stay but our room for excellent, location was idilic and we were made to feel very at home... We would definitely stay there again, Robert and Gail were such lovely hosts...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Bonshaw Park, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare your supper, a light meal or home cooked wood fired pizza, cooked in our outdoor pizza oven. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauri Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.