We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kauri Point to your Saves list
Kauri Point
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4 Mark Wynd, Bonshaw Park, Taupo 3379, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off 2 night stays
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ladenburg, Germany
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights at Kauri Point and it was absolutely great. Gail and Robert are the perfect hosts - friendly, funny and open for any questions. We especially enjoyed sitting together with other guests and our hosts in the evening to share stories and gather ideas for the next day. Gail offered a continental as well as a great cooked breakfast and dinner on request. The rooms were clean and spacious. TV and Wireless Internet available for free. Frankly - this was the best accommodation of our whole trip!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
162
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

After reading previous reviews, we were really looking forward to our three day stay at Kauri Point and we weren’t disappointed. The location of this homestay was perfect for us; a short drive from Lake Taupo, set in a quiet cul-de-sac location within its own grounds. Our large ensuite room was equipped with high quality furniture and linens, with good views on three sides and patio doors opening out on to a very large decked BBQ area. Our hosts, Gail and Robert, a very hard working couple, really welcome you in to the heart of their family, including the cat and dog! Early evening drinks & nibbles on the patio, proved to be a great way to meet the other guests. Gail regularly baked a delicious cake which was available with the tea/coffee/drinks facilities in the guest annex. The daily cooked breakfast certainly set us up for the day. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed at this Bed & Breakfast as a last minute decision. My husband and I loved every moment of our stay. Our hosts went above and beyond what you would expect. It was so great to enjoy a lovely breakfast and chat with Gail.
The location is perfect being just out of the main city and it was so wonderful to wake up to such beautiful surroundings.
The room was perfect. It was so clean and inviting. Stepping out onto the large deck to watch the sunrise was a real treat.
We loved our stay so much we plan to come back again this year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed on night in Feb 2011, it is only about 10 mins drive from Taupo which is a great alternative to staying in town. The location is great and situated on 6 acres of bliss!

Room was more than one could ask for. Clean, spacious, and furnished according to a 5 star standard. 5 stars in New Zealand usually is about 3.5 - 4 stars in the rest of the world, this is worth it!

I had the pleasure of having Roger cook breakfast for me and it was a great breakfast! (I'm not suppose to say anything in case he gets recruited to cook more!) It was great, all one could expect for breakfast. My partner just stuck with the continental breakfast and loved it as well.

I would recommend this to anyone, much nicer than staying in the city but so close that it isn't an issue to drive to town!

Separate entrance for guests and a very inviting family!

Thanks for the great stay!

Oh yeah, there is free WIFI

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased that Robert cooked you a great breakfast - he kept pretty quiet about that !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Jan and her husband were so welcoming to us. Our room was perfect and the view was stunning. They were such gracious accommodating hosts. They have a cat and a dog that were wonderful company as well. The breakfast we had was cooked and she offered homemade jam, and a variety of cereal and fruit.
There was guest laundry available which was so accommodating. There was a kitchen filled with tea, soft drinks, and sweets. No detail is overlooked and we felt right at home. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. I wish we could have stayed longer. Don't forget your suit....they have a nice hot tub which was great to enjoy in the great outdoors.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your trip was as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sT nEOTS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed at Kauri Point for 2 nights in Jan & were made so welcome. The attention to detail is fabulous & the room was perfect. It was also lovely to have your own terrace.
Nothing was to much trouble & it was a very relaxing place.
We would certainly recommend Kauri Point to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I booked this get-away very last minute, on travelbug, after a very busy time in our own business. Afther I read some of the very positive feedbacks on tripadvisor.We were looking forward to meet Gail & Robert ourself. Although it did say DEAL! I did not know I was settling for less comfort or service.
The place is breathtaking, the view spectacular and the rooms beautiful, clean and very complete with a bed I'd wish to take home.
We arrived 3.30 maybe a bit to early but were shown to our room, profecionaly.
(No warm welcome with home baking as in many other reviews)
When Gail(our host) asked us what time (before 9.00)we wanted our "light" breakfast and 'if' it was included in our booking?! This was the moment I realised we'done something wrong?! (I didn't dare ask about the hot-tub) The next morning we had breakfast with another couple, while they were munching their bacon & eggs, mushrooms & tomatoes on toast, we where kindly offered an egg and a slice of bacon too (even though we're not entitled to!?) I'd rather pay extra then feel so stink! We still had a nice relaxing time but were not "bargain hunting" We just needed some Time-out.
Please adjust your advertisement to avoid future disappointment.
Happy guest might be future returners! Thanks

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this review, February 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. As well as letting future guests know what experience you have had these reviews are useful for us too - it allows us to deal with any issues, as in this case an oversight on our part, we had not realised that Travelbug had not specified that the last minute cheaper 'deals' include bed and continental, or light, breakfast only. Sorry if you felt misled, we have changed the web site now to avoid a similar situation.
The hot tub of course is available to ALL guests.
We are sorry these guests felt they did not recieve adequate service - I think that our other reviews speak for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Bonshaw Park, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauri Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.