We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical thermal pools” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wairakei Terraces

Wairakei Terraces
State Highway 1&5 | Wairakei, Taupo, New Zealand
64 7 378 0913
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 57 Activities in Taupo
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical thermal pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This has to be the best natural hot pool we have been to and it's so true to nature and naturally beautiful. I loved walking around the area and seeing quail in the hundreds running around and then tuis and bell birds flying overhead while we soothed ourselves in the pools. This is a magical place. We are back there again tomorrow!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    40
    12
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“A Bit of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was an amazing relaxing afternoon.
Immaculately clean, peaceful beautiful environment. friendly service.
Have been several times.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very scenic and beautiful spa.... Perfect spot to spend on rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The weather was not in my favor to walk around taupo..... though its bit expensive its totally worth it. there are 3 different pools to relax. the water is very clean.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Soak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A great spa experience.

Had a massage then an hour in the pools soaking away a multitude of aches and pains. When we visited it was at twilight on an overcast day which lent to the eerie atmosphere in the baths.

The pools are a beautiful azure, and we were there, relatively deserted.

Our skin felt great for a couple of days afterwards.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Arnaud, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“ETHEREAL HOT WATER BATHING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Although expensive, this facility is worth the money. The hot water, even in the lowest pool, was super-hot, and bathing there in the late afternoon until it got dark created an ethereal experience with the lighting and steam being very atmospheric! The water is naturally turquoise, and soft as silk. There is no blue paint here. I did not go to the upper pools as I was told they were even hotter, and the temperature in the lowest pool was already pretty hot. Don't go close to the waterfall as the water coming over that is boiling and you could easily scald yourself. There were not many people there on the Saturday evening I bathed with a friend. This was one of my favourite hot spring experiences in New Zealand.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wairakei Terraces also viewed

 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Wairakei Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wairakei Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.