We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackcurrant Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blackcurrant Backpackers to your Saves list
Blackcurrant Backpackers
20 Taniwha Street, Taupo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best hostel I've stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked a private room for myself and 2 other friends as we were doing a road trip across the North Island. The hostel's location is great (close to all the major attractions) and the staff is super friendly. The room was close to a hotel room with an ensuite bathroom, a bar fridge and even electric blankets. The room was colourful, clean and tidy. I've travelled with friends to most parts in Australia and stayed at hostels which were pretty decent, but this place tops it all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    33
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
31
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Voecklabruck, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The hostel is centrally located and there's a supermarket and a warehouse nearby. The communal areas and the rooms/bathrooms are very clean. Most rooms don't have bunks and do have a bathroom. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is definitely a place to stay for some days and enjoy Taupo.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in a double room with a queen and a single with ensuite. It even had a little bar fridge. It was more like a good motel quality and than backpackers. Only stayed one night but it could have been way longer it was so comfortable

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This backpacker is a really good one! I advise you to stay there in Taupo. It's close to the city centre, the lake, the Huka Falls, the restaurants. .. And people working at the office are really welcoming and friendly, especially Max who is always smiling! There is as well a nice kitchen and a lot of facilities (laundry, Wifi...).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with some friends. We had a spacious room with comfy single beds and a very clean bathroom for our own use. The staff was friendly and provided us with useful information about the area. The kitchen offers clean cooking facilities and there are several sitting areas inside and outside. We had an awesome stay in Taupo and will come back some day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziano di Fiemme, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed two days at Blackcurrant Backpackers with some friends. Really helpful staff and amazing beds (especially if you walk the Tongariro Crossing like we did, and need to crash and rest your tired legs). The kitchen gets quite busy at night as there are only two cookers, but other than that really quite and clean hostel.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group of 5 you will get an entire dorm for you, with ensuite bathroom. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was torn between this place an Rainbow Lodge ...and chose the wrong one.

There was nothing wrong with blackcurrant (well, except nowhere near enough fridge space, free coffee not available until 8.30am, no bathroom hand towel/dryer, only two cookers for 50 people, expensive laundry facilities & wifi that didn't work) but based on the reviews I was expecting something maybe a little special and this was just ... well, pretty bland.

I was in a 4-share that had plenty of space, comfy bed & good, clean modern bathroom (shared with next door via adjoining doors) and it was perfectly serviceable and adequate.

I didn't find much atmosphere to the place. Perhaps because I don't drink & there were a lot of drinkers there while I was there? Or perhaps the more motel-like set-up with the kitchen across the way & up the stairs.

In summary, Blackcurrant is perfectly adequate but didn't have all the whistles & bells that other reviews led me to expect.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackcurrant Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackcurrant Backpackers

Address: 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's best option for comfort, convenience and great times with international friends. Here you'll find a bunk-free experience with single beds made up ready for your arrival and delightful en-suite bathrooms. We've renovated one of Taupo's most central hostels with the modern backpacker in mind. Two minutes from the supermarkets and central bus station, we have a comfy DVD lounge, huge garden, massive balcony complete with BBQ and stunning views of Mt. Ngauruhoe (Mt. Doom) and beyond. Whether you're an adrenaline junky keen to launch yourself from a plane at 15,000 feet, looking to set sail on the Great Lake or seeking peace and tranquillity along with some of New Zealand's most beautiful walks, our staff are here to make sure your visit lives up to expectations...aim high, people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Blackcurrant Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackcurrant Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.